First Line Fridays: November 22nd, 2019

Hello, bookworms and welcome to First Line Fridays post.
First Line Fridays is a weekly meme hosted by Hoarding Books. The main object is to grab the book nearest you and share the first line.

This book was supposed to have been read and reviewed months ago, but I had put it on the back burner and I reckon it’s about time to sit down and actually READ it.

When I requested this book from NetGalley, I was on a huge psychological thriller kick. I remember reading thrillers back to back sandwiching cozy-mysteries in between to cleanse my palate so that I wouldn’t get bored or tired.

Despite my attempt, I did run out of steam in late September and I realized I haven’t read any psychological thrillers ever since.
I was a bit apprehensive if I was ready to dive back into the genre at first, but it turned out a needless misgiving. I’m 10% in the book at the moment and eager to know how the story goes down. 

Synopsis from Goodreads:

You’d be lost without her…

She’s the shoulder you cry on when the father of your children disappears.

She’s the person you turn to when he comes back, begging for forgiveness.

She’s by your side when you discover his guilty secrets.

She helps rock your babies to sleep when they cry.

She’s your friend when you have no one else.

She’s the woman upstairs, whose feet you hear treading around as you drift off at night, thankful you aren’t alone.

But what if you’re about to lose everything because of her?

One of the most twisted, shocking, heart-stopping psychological thrillers you’ll ever read! Fans of K.L. Slater, The Wife Between Us and The Girl on the Train, prepared to be kept up way past your bedtime as you race through this addictive page-turner.

As the first line is relatively short, I’m going to share the first two lines.

I crawl to the top of the stone stairs. Every bone in my body hurts, but I have to get out of here.

Now, it’s your turn. What are you reading? What is your first line?
Open the book nearest you and post the first line in the comments below!

Thank you so much for reading as always, and I’ll see you in my next post!

Leave a Reply - Thank you!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: