Book Blitz: Mercy by Stephen Bentley @StephenBentley8 @Shalini_G26 #Bookblogger #Booktours #DetectiveThriller #Thrillers

Hello, bookworms! Welcome to a cover reveal for Mercy by Stephen Bentley organized by Digital Reads Blog Tours. 

Thank you, Digital Reads Blog Tours and the author, Stephen Bentley for my spot on this blog tour.

His daughter was taken. He’ll never get her back.

Set in the near future, Matt Deal is a British businessman married into a wealthy Florida family.

Mercy, his fifteen-year-old daughter, is the glue in his rocky marriage to Lorey. His life is changed forever after Mercy is brutally sexually assaulted on a Destin beach leaving her in a persistent vegetative state.
Trusting the local detectives to bring the rapists to justice, mixed martial arts expert Deal concentrates in vain on his Florida gym business, only to have his world further explode on learning the men responsible for his daughter’s injuries may escape justice. Deal is isolated and at his wit’s end after his rich father-in-law sends death threats blaming him for all these ills.

Who can he turn to? Where can he go? What will he do? Who can he trust?
Will he return to a post-Brexit Britain or ultimately will he seek revenge?

Fans of Jack Reacher, Barry Eisler, and any vigilante justice novel will love this book.

Genre: crime fiction (noir)/thriller/urban fiction with some graphic scenes and language.

As much as he tried to hide it, Deal felt nervous as he knocked on the door of Internal Affairs.

The voice resonated in his head. “Enter.”

It was the tone, the command, the authority in the voice that reminded him why he was nervous. One false word, one false move and I’m fired, he thought.

Reading the open file, Emily Breen looked up through heavy-rimmed glasses before speaking again. “We meet again, Detective Deal. Sit.”

Breen pointed to a regular-looking seat on the opposite side of the desk from her high-backed executive chair. She continued reading. Deal sat watching her in silence.

Peering over her glasses, Breen said, “Remind me. When was the first time we met?”

“I think you know. It’s all there in my file. Larry Etchwell, Coroner’s Court. I was still with the Human Trafficking Department.”

Breen was silent. She appeared to be deep in thought.

Her next words broke the silence. “The psych evaluation is all good. Says you are fit to remain on active duty.”

“Good. I knew that but it’s good to hear the experts say it too.” Deal emphasised experts. The sarcasm wasn’t missed by Breen.

“Deal. You know the score. Why do you make things difficult for yourself?”

Deal ignored caution. “I always do things the hard way. Haven’t you heard?”

Breen ignored him. “What is this thing with the stutter?”

“How do you mean?”

“You’ve seen the report. What you told the shrink.”

“Remind me. What did I say?”

“If you were a rattlesnake, the stutter would be your rattle.”

Deal smiled at the thought of that meeting with the shrink. “Yeah. That’s what I said. It’s a fact.”

“But why? Why a stutter?”

“I don’t fucking know why. Why does a rattlesnake have a rattle?”

“There you go again, Detective Deal.”

“What?”

“Not helping yourself.”

“Are we done?”

“No. We are not. I have to tell you, one more loss of control. One more death, self-defence or not, you are finished. Do you hear me?”

“I hear you.”

“Good. Is there anything else you wish to say?”

“Can I ask a question?”

“You may.”

“Why does a bird fly?”

“What do you mean?”

“Asking me why I stutter if threatened is like asking a bird why it flies. Why an elephant has big ears. It’s just so. And one other thing – ask these guys what they were going to do to me.”

“I can’t. You killed them.”

“Too right. Before they killed me.” 

Book Links:

AMAZON

US: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07XFZSRWW/
UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B07XFZSRWW/

The paperback is now on sale. Ebook release is still November 30.Paperback universal link http://getbook.at/PAPERBACKMERCYAll digital stores http://bit.ly/2MWEHjF that includes Kindle, Kobo, Nook, Apple etc. 

It is on pre-order for only 0.99 until release date November 30 then it will be $3.99.

GOODREADS

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/48058215-mercy

Stephen Bentley

Stephen Bentley is a f ormer UK Detective Sergeant, barrister, and author of a bestselling undercover cop memoir. He also writes crime fiction.

Author Links:

| Bookbub | HuffPost UK | Website | Books2Read |
| Amazon Author Page | All Author | Twitter | Instagram |

AI Sheets for trade booksellers may be found here at hendrypublishing.com

Organized by:

Digital Reads Blog Tours

Thank you for dropping by for Mercy Book Blitz.

I recently read a murder mystery anthology Death Among Us compiled by the same author and enjoyed it so much.
Obviously, this excerpt piqued my interest and I am all game for checking this book out once it’s out on November 30th!

If this post and the excerpt managed to tantalize you, be sure to pre-order the book while it’s only $0.99!

Thank you for stopping by as always, and I’ll see you in my next post!

5 thoughts on “Book Blitz: Mercy by Stephen Bentley @StephenBentley8 @Shalini_G26 #Bookblogger #Booktours #DetectiveThriller #Thrillers

Add yours

Leave a Reply - Thank you!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: