Award: The Versatile Blogger Award

 

Thank you so much Mischenko@ReadRantRock&Roll and Priyasha@BOOKS AND CO. for nominating me for this award!
This nomination came as a complete surprise and I still cannot believe this. Thank you so much for your support, guys! I really appreciate it 🙂
If you haven’t already please check out their blogs! Mischenko’s blog has a lot of great contents such as great good reviews, mouth-watering food recipes and photos and beautiful stories that pull your heartstrings!
Don’t forget to visit Priyasha’s blog, too! She seems to be a busy-bee with her school and everything, but she consistently posts cute posts that put a smile on her face. She’s such a cutie ❤

 

RULES OF THE VERSATILE BLOGGER AWARD:

1.) Thank the bloggers who nominated you and share their links.
2.) Nominate at least 10 bloggers for the award and provide links to their blogs.
3.) Also inform them about their nomination.
4.) Reveal 7 facts about yourself that your readers may not know.

 

7 FACTS ABOUT ME

1.BookTube (YouTube) addict:
Yes, I am. I love watching YouTube, especially BookTube videos. But before becoming as big a bookworm as I am now about a year ago, I used to watch an awful lot of cooking (baking) videos such as FoodTube by Jamie Oliver and Honeysuckle catering by Honeysuckle (although I am far cry from a good cook…*sigh*)
I don’t think I have to explain Jamie Oliver, but if you have never watched Honeysuckle videos, go check that out. Her videos are so beautifully filmed, edited and more than anything, Honeysuckle – Dzung (she’s a Vietnamese) is such a sweetie! I love her.

2.Love Music
This might not be a surprise for you, but I listen to music A LOT. There’s never a day when I don’t listen to music. Even with my growing pile of books, I always squeeze some music into my life.
I basically listen to whatever genre as long as it’s good and strikes a chord with me, but I generally like music with beautiful harmony or melody line.
My favorite band will always be TOTO but I also often listen to:

  1. Chicago
  2. YES
  3. Phil Collins (sometimes)
  4. Genesis
  5. Steve Porcaro (Yes, he released his first solo album! I love it <3)
  6. Red Hot Chili Peppers (especially Stadium Arcadium)
  7. Kesha
  8. Evanescence (Fallen)
  9. Linkin Park (Meteora)
  10. Daryl Hall & John Oates

Oh, I also do a lot of carpool karaoke (of course by myself). Surprised??

3. I don’t read mangas nor watch animes that much.
No, I don’t. There are some mangas that I absolutely loved to some extent such as One Piece and Naruto, I don’t usually read any mangas nor do I watch animes. Can I be honest with you? Illustrations of girls with huge, about-to-cry eyes and big boobs simply disgusts me. Believe it or not, a municipal government in Japan once put such images of girls on their posters!!! Even if that was an attempt to draw in inbound tourists… Ughh, no. I cannot stand that…

4. I cannot blow my nose
No, I cannot. Laugh at me if you want – but seriously, no, I cannot blow my nose.
To be more precise, I don’t seem to know how to properly blow my nose. I’m not even joking!
I don’t know why, but blowing my nose always makes me worry if I accidentally damage my eardrums and I just cannot bring myself to blow my nose. And what do I do instead if I can’t blow my nose? … Take a guess.

5. I cannot ride a motorcycle
In Japan, when you get a driver’s license, you’re automatically qualified to drive a motorcycle by merely taking a one-hour crash course on motorcycle. Long time ago, while I was waiting in line for my turn to come, the motorcycle suddenly acted up and then the brake went out of order. In an attempt to put the raging motorcycle under control, the supervisor jumped in and tried to grab the handle. But the very next moment, the tire that was spinning at the speed of about 40km/h, cut right across the supervisor’s arm, the blood, THE BLOOD trickled down onto the pavement. Needless to say, the class was cut short, we were dismissed but since then, the idea of riding a motorcycle frightens me. I don’t think I will ever get over my fears.

6. I hate spiders
Just mentioning talking about spiders sends the chill down my spine, I won’t talk much, but yes, I hate spiders. Small, tiny ones are okay but the big ones… Ughhh, they just scare the crap out of me! In Japan, there is a saying that we should not kill spiders in the morning (because it’s an auspicious harbinger), but for me, spiders must be get rid of regardless of the time of day. I simply cannot stand the idea of them lurking somewhere in the room.
My biggest concern when Summer and Fall time roll round is the encounters with big kinds. I always make sure that I’m well stocked up with insecticide sprays just in case I have to tackle them on my own.

7.Possession obsession
Once I think I want something, I feel like I have to have it unless it’s extremely expensive.
And then I start thinking about it almost 24/7, and I just succumb to my temptation and end up buying it.
This is why ‘borrowing something’ doesn’t work for me. If I borrow something (mostly books) from someone and I find I really like it, then I start feeling I want to possess my own copy. A bad habit which is hard to kick out of.

 

My Nominees:

It’s hard come up with as many as 10 bloggers and I don’t want to inundate my friends with tags (since I’ve been tagging them a lot), I’ll pick only a handful of them. Hate to be a rule-breaker, but here are my nominees:

As usual, don’t feel obliged to do this if you’re not up for it. No pressure! Those of you who stumbled across this post and up for it, consider yourself tagged and go ahead!

 

Thank you all so much once again, I hope you enjoyed that!

Noriko

44 thoughts on “Award: The Versatile Blogger Award

    1. Thanks, Jay for commenting! Yes, #7 could be dangerous, but obviously, budget issue has worked all right as a restraint so far lol
      And yes, not being able to blow my nose… I really don’t know how. Aren’t you afraid of damaging your eardrums?? The pressure that I feel on my eardrums always makes me nervous

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Congratulations, you deserve it!!

    You’re quite right about mangas/animes, but I personally love them, and find that those aimed at girls are less sexualized. One does need to cherry pick though, for example Ouran High School Host Club and Fruit Basket I found quite nice. Must say I’ve never watched Naruto – and lately I haven’t been reading manga at all…

    Evanescence is AWESOME and I admire Amy Lee so much.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Naty and thank you for you objective feedback for mangas/animes. Yes, you’re right. Some mangas are actually a lot less sexualized, i may have oversimplified them, thank you for that!
      Oh, Naruto is an epic, EPIC Ninja story. There are scenes that are kind of heartbreaking, but it’s a great story on friendship, hope and perseverance.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I didn’t think it was an oversimplification – it’s your experience, and completely valid. Just thought it might be nice to see there’s maybe one or two that are not like that 🙂

        One of these days I gotta re-watch some favorites and maybe check out Naruto too! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Detailed answers! Nice job. Congrats on a double nomiation too! I love Hall and Oates. We like a lot of the same music too. Amazing! I was laughing at the nose blowing. 🙂 Have a good week! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Mischenko for the nomination! Oh, you like Hall and Oates, too!? That’s so cool! We seem to share the same tastes in music 🙂
      And yes, blowing my nose… sounds kind of silly, but i’m glad you had a good laugh! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations Noriko!! I can understand your dislike for anime but man do I love the less stereotypical anime! Maybe you haven’t found the good ones. Have you ever seen Cowboy Bebop?
    Love your music choices as well 😊

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Girl! I’m an anime junkie! My husband and I just finished Attack on Titan season 2 a few minutes ago. We have a Crunchyroll account because we live anime so much hahaha

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Also I watched One Piece for a bit and my husband watched Naruto. I made it through a good chunk of Shippuden but then the fillers got too much and I have up but he kept going til the end haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know! I think the issues on anime series is they start broadcast while the original manga is still running; TV adaptations tend to go at much faster pace than mangas, so they often result in putting a lot of fillers which I don’t like lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah. Depends on the show too. Rurouni Kenshin had fillers but they were tolerable. But something like Inuyasha fillers and I want to scream. Have you at least seen some anime movies??

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I’m really crappy at coming up with questions (so sometimes I cheat) but I want to reciprocate the love that fellow bloggers have given me ❤

      Like

    1. Thank you so much! I found it online (copyright free) and I love it. I thought this image best illustrates my sincere thanks to my dear readers ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply - Thank you!

