Goodreads Monday: The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

Hello, everyone! It’s time for another Goodreads Monday!

Goodreads Monday is a weekly meme created and hosted by Lauren@Lauren’s Page Turners. To participate, choose a random book from your TBR and show it off! Don’t forget to check out Lauren’s blog and link back to her so that others can see what you picked!

My pick for this week is:

The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson 

In a world where ash falls from the sky, and mist dominates the night, an evil cloaks the land and stifles all life. The future of the empire rests on the shoulders of a troublemaker and his young apprentice. Together, can they fill the world with colour once more?
In Brandon Sanderson’s intriguing tale of love, loss, despair and hope, a new kind of magic enters the stage— Allomancy, a magic of the metals. (Goodreads)

I got the complete box set last December. This book, The Final Empire had been on my radar ever since I started watching BookTube videos. As if watching one of my favorite BookTuber Mollie Reads rave about it (at around 9:36) was not tempting enough, my Twitter bookish friend bought the box set and tweeted about it!
Once I get tempted, I simply CANNOT STOP.  I immediately went to Amazon but the box set that I found was the one published by Tor Books which looks like this.

Honestly, I didn’t like this cover and I still don’t. I personally don’t favor covers with a face on it at all.
You might say ‘the content is the same, don’t judge a book by its cover!’  I know there’s a grain of truth in there, but I just cannot help it. So, I immediately went to Book Depository and bought the paperback box set published by Orion Publishing.

Although I said that I don’t like covers with a face at all, this one, The Hero of Ages, the third in the Mistborn trilogy is totally fine with me. I think this cover is cool and even aesthetically pleasing to the eye. I love this a lot.

Put my babbling aside, I am thinking of reading The Final Empire next month. I don’t usually read fantasy during summer, but I feel I have to read this next month for some reason.
Just like I did last week, I am expecting you all to hold me accountable! Remind me if I’ve forgotten to include this in my August TBR!


That’s it for today.
Has any of you read this book? If so, what are your thoughts?
Let me know in the comments and I’ll see you in my next post!
Happy reading!

Noriko

9 thoughts on “Goodreads Monday: The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

    1. No worries! I know what you mean… I’ve got so many books on my shelf that I don’t have to buy for a while, but I cannot resist it lol
      I have no idea what to do with my growing pile…

      Liked by 1 person

  1. These books are worthy of all the hype! I binged them after hearing all the Booktube reviews, and they quickly became some of my favorite books of all time. Enjoy reading them! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply - Thank you!

