Weekly Wrap-Up: July 10th -16th

Hello, everyone! As I mentioned in my previous post, I’m going to be doing Weekly Wrap-Ups starting this week. I figured it would make much more sense than doing #WeekendReads.

Without further ado, let’s get down to it.

 

Reviews that I wrote

History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

History is all you left me

I wish I were as fast a reader as you are, but sadly, I am not. I only got to finish this book maybe around Thursday (My gosh, I already forgot…). But this book is definitely one of the best reads in 2017. I really want to read more from him.

 

Posts that I made

Regarding the number of posts, I can say it’s pretty satisfactory. I introduced some features including some weekly memes this week and it’s been going good so far. Especially, I’m pleasantly surprised by all the positive responses that I have got for my new segment, #Tidbits about Japan. It was totally on a whim (but I’d been contemplating whether to do it or not), so such positive responses have definitely motivated me to try even more 🙂

Awards & Tags

This week has been a pretty surprising one; I’ve been tagged for two Bookish tags (one of which I haven’t done yet) and I was nominated for 4 awards! (again, two of which I haven’t done yet).
It’s been really humbling just to think that they even thought about me when deciding on their nominees. I really appreciate their support!

 

Book that I bought

fifty shades of darker

To tell the truth, I had totally forgotten about having bought this book when the package arrived. A couple days ago, my Twitter friend with whom I buddyread Fifty Shades of Grey finally finished listening to an Audiobook. Although I’d had absolutely NO intention of reading the sequels (let’s be real, it isn’t worthwhile), but she was like, ‘I’m expecting you to read the sequels and let me know your thoughts!’ and I got tempted… (Ughhh) Seriously, how could you resist when someone showed you their trust and faith in you???
This is how I ended up buying this book and it’s now deeply hidden in my bookshelf. I’ll probably won’t read this until next month, but… am I really going to read THIS?? I really have no idea…

 

What I’m currently reading…

The pillars of the earth

Yes, I’m still working my way through this book and I’m close to 40% right now.
I’ve just got into Part 2 and it’s getting more and more interesting and gripping! What I found amazing about this book is the writing and how intricately and meticulously the story is crafted. The characters are all fleshed out and realistic, and the writing is so solid and extremely descriptive. As some characters’ evil side have been revealed, I’m literally hating them with a burning passion! So far, my favorite character is definitely Phillip, the prior of KingsBridge. He’s a devout monk and his wit, insights and magnanimity… Awww, I just adore him!
I cannot wait to see how his wish of rebuilding the cathedral turns out!

004

That’s it for today.
How about you? Has this week been satisfactory for you? What books did you finish reading?
Let me know in the comments and I’ll talk to you again soon!

 

The pics are my aunt’s 6 months-old Mame Shiba dog (small-sized breed of Shiba).
He is very energetic and just so cute! He kept climbing on my laps and licking and biting all over my face lol
Isn’t he precious??

Noriko

18 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-Up: July 10th -16th

  1. I was curious about the hype around 50 shades and one time saw the 3 books sold in a bundle for less than 10 bucks, so was tempted and bought all three… Deep regrets. I did read all three though, and although I disliked them all, I can’t buy a book and not read it. I hope you enjoy this one in any case, and I’m curious to see what you think of it!

    I’ve finished Brave New World a couple days ago, not too impressed… have you read it? Also finished Kiss of Deception this Monday, and hopefully will finish What If in the next few days!

    Oh my GOD, that Shiba is so adorable!! ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Naty! No, I have read neither of them but I’ve heard a lot about Kiss of Deception. I cannot wait to hear your thoughts!
      As for 50 shades… ughh, I don’t know why I bought this.. deep regrets lol

      I knew you’d say that! This Shiba is just killing me. He is just painfully cute…

      Like

    1. Thanks, Lauren! Yes, I think I’ve been very active on the blogosphere and I’m getting a huge kick out of it✨ if only I could read faster… lol
      And yes! The doggie is incredibly cute💗✨

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so sorry, Jay! My WP spam filter seems to have caught your comment for some reason! Yes, he is super-duper, painfully adorable. Mame-Shiba grows up to be about 38-41cm (height) and 8-11kg, which is almost as big as an adult dog. Really cute!! But I love Ryder, too. I remember telling you my favorite dog breed is Welsh corgi Pembroke, but now I’ve changed my mind; I love Shibas!!
      And thank you for commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Adorable dog!! I want one ❤ ❤ Oh my!! Now if you read Fifty Shades Darker, you will have to read Fifty Shades Freed, lol!! I can't wait to hear how you like your new book!! 🙂 Glad you are still enjoying Pillars; such a fantastic book!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Stephanie! Yes, this doggie is just painfully adorable! I could spend a whole just watching him play with his toys…
      And yes! Now that I bought Fifty Shades of Darker, my friend will definitely expect me to read the last one, too! lol
      The first one took me by surprise for being much milder and softer as I had expected as a matter of fact, but in retrospect, there’s no quality whatsoever in its writing… i seriously wonder why I bought that book.

      As for the Pillars, I am really enjoying it. It’s indeed a masterfully written, fantastic book!

      Like

      1. How cute! I love dogs! We have two but my older dog is 14 and in failing health, so it’s just a matter of making sure she feels ok and is happy now until we know it’s her time.

        That was my problem with the Fifty Shades books, lol. They were not that erotic in my opinion. But the writing was awful!! I wanted to take my red pen and edit them so badly. I honestly laughed.

        Ken Follett is an excellent author. I hope you are able to find the Pillars tv series to watch as well. It is excellent too.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I know!! It’s not that erotic, but the writing and the story-crafting are just awful… if you look at it as pure entertainment rather than a book with quality writing, then you may get to enjoy to some extent, but as a book… No lol

          Like

  3. Don’t read Fifty Shades Darker unless you absolutely need some kind of closure but it’s very predictable and not necessary, lol. I just finished The Bourbon Kings by J.R. Ward. I did a buddy read with Lana. Not sure if we’re going to continue the series or not yet cause we both weren’t impressed, lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Nel! Haha, Yes. I’ll let it sleep on my bookshelf and won’t pick it up unless I’m absolutely up for reading it lol
      The Bourbon Kings sounds interesting (checked Goodreads), but given that both you guys weren’t impressed… hmmm.
      By the way, i’ve just started reading Me Before You today and I’m on page 100 now. It’s so good so far!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oooh yay! Can’t wait for that review! And yeah, maybe the second book will be different because it did end with a glaring, unanswered question which makes you almost have to continue.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply - Thank you!

