#Tidbits about Japan: Sponge Cake

Hello, everyone!
In my last post, I talked about my obsession with baking sponge cake when I was in high school.
I knew from watching an awful a lot of FoodTube by Jamie Oliver that our sponge cake is pretty different from yours.
Inspired by a chat that I had with Stephanie, I’ve decided to make a post on our sponge cake and show you how it’s done! Hurray spontaneity!
Anyways, here we go!

 

Japanese Style Sponge Cake

For ingredients and instructions, I found a very authentic Japanese sponge cake here. (Link to Japanese Cooking 101.com)

To see how it’s actually done, check out the video down below created by the same author.

I think you’ll find both the ingredients and the process are quite different from yours.
Our sponge cake doesn’t call as much butter (fat) as yours, so it is very important to line the cake pan with parchment paper to prevent the cake from sticking to the pan.

My Personal Tips

If you don’t have enough time to shift the flour twice as shown in the video, you can put the flour in a bowl and whisk it really REALLY well instead. As you can see in the video, the point of shifting is not to have any lumps in the batter AND to incorporate air in the flour, so whisking thoroughly in a bowl will definitely work.

You don’t have a stand mixer? No worries! You could always use a hand mixer or even with a whisk and your bare strength.  It might take a while and is actually pretty strenuous if you do it by hand, but I used to do it by hand when I was in high school lol

I personally recommend you turn the bowl clockwise with your left hand (or your right hand if you’re left-handed) when folding the flour. It makes it easier to evenly distribute and incorporate the flour.

What makes our sponge cake so light and fluffy is the air incorporated during the whipping process. So, you need to be really careful when folding the flour so as not to burst and ruin the air bubbles in the batter.

003

So, there you have it; this is the recipe for our sponge cake!
I think it’s quite different from the one you’re familar with. Let me know how it’s different and what you think!

Thank you, Stephanie for the inspiration. It’s been so much fun to do this post 🙂
I hope you enjoyed reading this and I’ll see you next week. (This one is totally on a whim.. But I thought I had to do this!!!)

Noriko

Small roses 3

39 thoughts on “#Tidbits about Japan: Sponge Cake

    1. Wow, Kristin, thank you! In fact, I was a bit nervous when starting this new feature but upon receiving such positive responses like yours, I’m now really motivated! I’ll definitely keep doing my best to introduce many more Japanese tidbits you probably haven’t known!

      Like

  1. Yay!! I love it! I’m so glad we talked about baking and sponge cakes, lol! And it inspired you to write a post!! I’m definitely going to try this ❤❤ I think the texture of your sponge cake is more similar to our chiffon cakes which I haven’t seen made in forever! My mom used to make them when I was younger and I learned how to make them, but I doubt I’ve made them as an adult. I’d have to compare the two. I love cake so much and now I’m hungry! 🍰

    It’s so funny but when I originally started my blog I intended to do recipes and a bunch of other stuff but then ended up getting caught up with tons of books to review that I never really did anything except 1 recipe post in the very beginning when I probably had 10 followers, lol. I did a post on traditional southern fried chicken, biscuits and cole slaw to go with a book review 😄 And the book’s author commented on my recipes and I was so happy, lol!!

    Please, keep introducing us to more things about your culture! I’m really enjoying it!! ❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Stephanie! I’m so glad you loved this 🙂 Yes, I think the texture is kind of similar to chiffon cake, but I think chiffon cake calls for a lot of oil instead of butter if my memory serves me correctly… gosh, I need to check that out lol

      I didn’t know you used to do recipes when you started your blog! But I know what you’re talking about – once we get caught up with reading, you hardly have any time to do other things! This could have waited until next Friday, but since it’s Sunday here in Japan, I decided to do this 🙂

      Like

      1. I did love it! ❤

        You’re right! Chiffon cake calls for oil. I just looked in my cookbook. It’s 1/4 cup, so 85 grams if I converted right 😂.

        It was just one post with recipes, but yes, it was fun! Then I had a million…not really…Netgalley books to read and review and no time for anything else, lol. I was doing a book review every day when I started my blog in May and it was really getting me frazzled. I went overboard when I started that’s for sure! And that’s a big part of why I’ve dialed down my blogging schedule, besides my fibro flare up that has exhausted me, is I don’t want to do book reviews constantly since that’s not what I intended when I started my blog. So, I’m still trying to get things worked out in my head, lol. I don’t want, well I can’t, post daily with my time commitments and health, so 3 days definitely a week and 4x max if I possibly can.

        Actually, I’ve been thinking since the other day after I did my post last week on my favorite summer activities it would be fun to post my favorite summer recipes since the Top Ten Tuesday meme is on a break and I can post anything I want on Tuesday! What do you think? Maybe not 10 recipes because that would be a lot unless I do drinks too but 5 or so?

        I think it was great you did it today! Spontaneity is wonderful (most of the time)!! 😘

        Liked by 2 people

          1. Haha! I knew we’d talk this weekend!! I’ll have to come up with a list and see what I have…it will have to be a mixture of things like drinks, appetizers, entrees, desserts. Ugh! I haven’t had dinner yet because my hubby is on his way home from working out of town and now I’m starving lol. Time to go find food. Or order take out. Lol.

            Liked by 2 people

            1. You can do one of each! That’s a whole meal right there and I’d love to add to my recipe book! I’m starving too. In the process of making a steak dinner lol

              Like

        1. Thank you, Stephanie! I think 5 recipes will be great! Writing up 10 recipes might exhaust you or be much of a burden, but 5 wouldn’t be so hard. I think it’s a great idea and I really wanna experience American recipes! (because I have never been to the US)

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Thanks for your help! I think I’ll start looking at what I have that’s not too hard to make. I don’t want it to be like Gordan Ramsey cooking here, lol 😊 Five is probably good…10 is a lot to write out. We definitely need to let you experience American recipes!! 😁

            Liked by 1 person

              1. I’m excited too although I’m not sure when it will post…I’m trying to figure out whether I need to cook some of the things and take pictures of them or if I’ll need to find similar recipes on online and get permission to link them to my site.

                Liked by 1 person

  2. Yuuuum! I’m not a huge sponge cake fan but maybe because they’re different I might like Japanese sponge cake better. I know we have different pancakes too! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pancakes!! OMG, here’s another topic for this segment… lol Yes! We don’t have what you call pancakes in japan. Instead we have a thing called ‘hot cake.’ I gotta do this like ASAP! Hahaha

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahahaha you’re welcome. Depending on who you want, they’re called hot cakes or flap jacks here too but they look completely different. I saw a video once. That’s how I know. And now I want to try one as well as Japanese waffles if they’re different too lol

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Naty! I’m glad and actually surprised by all the positive responses! i’ll definitely keep making more and more interesting posts, stay tuned 😉

      Liked by 1 person

            1. Sorry, Shalini! For some reason, my spam filter caught your comment! Yes, it’s really light and fluffy. What Indian sponge cake tastes like I wonder?

              Like

Leave a Reply - Thank you!

