Award: The Black Cat Blue Sea

Thank you so much, Jay@This-Is-My-Truth-Now for nominating me for this award, you have been incredibly nice and sweet ever since we started interacting and I cannot thank you enough, I really appreciate the friendship we’re building now.
Those of you who haven’t already (and I’m sure it’s highly unlikely), go hurry over to Jay’s blog – he has so MUCH to offer – ranging from stunning and detailed book reviews, film/TV show reviews, and most importantly inspiring and enlightening 365 Daily Challenge! Go check that out and you won’t be disappointed 🙂

What Is This Award:

This award is for bloggers who strive to write for everybody, and no matter how many viewers they get, make an impact on a reader. This award is an expression of gratitude to the nominee. It should be awarded to anybody that you choose deserve it, and it doesn’t mean that they must have hundreds of followers and likes.

Rules:
  • Anybody nominated can nominate up to eight other bloggers
  • The nominee answers three questions posed by the nominator
  • The questions you ask while nominating can be any three questions
  • If any of the questions asked are offensive or the nominee simply does not want to answer, the nominee does not have to answer them to earn the award
Questions:

1. What would you like bloggers to do more of that they aren’t doing right now?

I’m not sure if I got this question right (duh) but, let’s give it a shot…
I think we bloggers – regardless whether we have been blogging for years or barely started blogging, we’re all striving to do the best we can; even if we say that we’re just blogging for ourselves or just for fun, the commitment and dedication are definitely THERE. In terms of that, I don’t think I would like anything more from them. Too much pressure can turn ourselves into our worst enemy and crush ourselves. I’d just want other bloggers and myself to stay the way we are and just keep striving the best we can. Does that answer your question? I hope so!

2. Tell us 4 things about yourself, one of which is not true… And see if we can guess.

Now, this is the toughest question I’ve ever come across… You know I’m really bad at cheating or lying (ahem)! Anyways, here are 4 things about me:

  • Bad with direction: I am notoriously bad with direction. Seriously, I cannot go anywhere without a GPS system, or I’ll get lost. Especially, driving to a place I have never been before always makes me nervous and jittery. Night-time driving makes me even more nervous. By the way, the aid has to be a GPS – maps don’t work because I am also bat at reading maps.
  • Introvert: Believe it or not, I’m an introvert. I cherish solitary and my me-time a lot. It often takes me a while to get to know someone unless the person in question is incredibly nice and personable. Once a bad impression settles in my mind, it takes ages to wipe that out. I’m not saying that I’m a kind of person who easily holds a grudge against others, it’s Far from it. I basically try to see others in a positive light, try to find good things in them, but if they treated me in an awful manner for no legitimate reason, then I’d hold a grudge against them. I would just keep my head down and let them pass. I’d clam up or simply walk away.
  • I’m all thumbs: Yes, I am. Other than baking and crocheting, I am a mess. I cannot wing it in the kitchen and obviously I don’t have a green thumb. Sewing? Out of the question and it actually makes me feel miserable and worthless at times. How I wish I were as good a cook as my sister-in-law and my own big sister! But like I said, I am pretty good at crocheting and baking because I used to bake cookies or cakes almost every weekend. I was OBSESSED WITH baking fluffy, soft sponge cake that melts in my mouth when I was in high school. As I used to bake such cakes or cookies on a regular basis, my big brother once blamed me for his weight gain.
  • I’m a tone-deaf: It’s not as prevalent as it used to be a decade ago, but when Karaoke was all the rage in Japan, it pained me a lot to hang out with my friends because the first option to kill time was going to karaoke. Thank goodness now we get to have private karaoke rooms, but when I was asked to go up on a little stage at the corner of a pub or restaurant, I would feel mortified.

There you have it; these are four things about me. Can you guess which one is the odd one out? Put your detective hat on, and peruse my answers!

3.Describe a perfect day that balances all the things you love.

I’ll get up early in the morning and read and blog for about two hours before hitting a seattle style cafe (like Starbucks) for a leisure breakfast with my favorite book. I’ll stay there at least more than an hour and then call up my friends to come out and spend a whole day with me, doing some shopping (most likely at bookstores or accessory stores), chilling out at a cafe (again) to have some quality time and then we’ll go for dinner and some drinks. Coming home, taking a shower and then I’ll veg out on my couch and chat with my online friends here at WordPress and Goodreads ❤ Then, I’ll get some reading done if I can before I go to bed. Turn off the lights and good night!

My nominees:

As usual, if you don’t do awards or have already done this, feel free to skip it! Just remember that I really appreciate all the time and efforts that go into your blog 🙂

Now, as for questions, as you can guess (YES!!), I, once again, cheat a little bit and challenge you all with Jay’s questions. Have fun with them (hehe) 😛

 

Thank you so much once again, I hope you enjoyed reading my answers!
I’ll definitely keep striving to make this blog even more entaining and fun for all of you to read 🙂

That’s it for today and I’ll talk to you again soon!

Noriko

15881181

47 thoughts on “Award: The Black Cat Blue Sea

  1. Your ideal day sounds pretty amazing! I think my ideal day would be quite similar.
    I think the odd one is that you’re all thumbs! I think you’re good at those things.
    Thank you so much for this nomination, it’s so incredibly sweet and it means so much to me! ❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! When I was thinking about the nominees, I wanted diversity and your anti-TBR post sprang to mind. Congrats! You deserve it!

      Like

  2. Congrats Noriko! I’m gonna go with Naty and say the wrong one is that you’re all thumbs. When I was reading it, I could see the others but I just don’t see that one being true lol

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Interesting. You’re the first to tell me that. I’ll check my spam queue. Have you tried clearing browser cache and cookies before?

        Like

              1. Yeah. There’s a wordpress.com and a wordpress.org. They’re connected but separate at the same time. Essentially I pay a server company to host my site from year to year

                Like

  3. Congratulations! And I can’t keep up with all your early risers… It takes me about an hour before I get thru all my normal routines and start looking at what was sent overnight in WP. So I’m late on this one! I did read the comments before I settled on my answer, as I was going to pick tone deaf. I thought that one only because I didn’t think you’d be comfortable doing karaoke and that you were trying to confuse us a little bit… but you did really stump me for a bit because all the answers were great. I was looking for the one word that was leading us astray.

    I’m so glad you played along, and your answer to #1 is great!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Haha! Thank you, Jay for the nomination 🙂
      Actually, as I said in the post, #2 was really hard for me to tackle! You know how bad I am at coming up with ideas and the like EVEN about myself… I really needed to rack my brain; I was like, ‘Okay, things about me… huh? I don’t know what I am??’ It was really hard, but it’s been so much fun!
      I am so glad you enjoyed my answers and that I came close to having you fooled! Hehe 😛

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! As for my answer to #1 is my honest feeling and I am glad to know a lot of readers seem to like it 🙂
      Ohhh, could you guess that without reading others’ (and mine) comment? If so, you have a knack for smelling out lies! Great job!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I’m glad you enjoyed my answers. It was a lot of fun to come up with answers, coming up with the ones to #2 was pretty tough though!

      Like

  4. Congrats sweetie! And thanks for the nomination! ❤ It looks like a fun award😊

    I promise I’ll get to it soon! I’ve got 3 tags maybe to do, and I’m backlogged on my ARC book reviews from being on hiatus, and I need start getting caught up or they’ll never approve me for an ARC again, lol. Well maybe not since my Netgalley percent is 93%, but I don’t want to take chances! I’ve written one for next week, so yay me!! I’m getting there!!

    Ugh, I’ve also got about 8 books that I read just to read…although to keep my life simple since I’m still feeling blah I’m not going to review every single book I read anymore since I’m so behind and just don’t have the time with my new blog schedule of not posting more than 3 days a week, maybe 4 since I want to spend most of time with my kids and give my body time to rest with my fibromyalgia flare up. Although I’m going to do mini reviews for quite a few books, which is a feature I was doing anyway prehiatus 😊 That will help I think!

    And somehow I was nominated for the Liebster Award 3x last week, lol. I’m going to have to figure out how to do that…. That makes 5x, so I’m not sure how I managed that! I may have to tag you for that 😉

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who gets lost! I’m terrible with directions and will have a meltdown if I start to get lost in the car, lol. I actually hate driving because of that!! I would love a sponge cake right now! Yum! I love to bake! It’s one of my favorite things! Now I’m starving…Your answer for #1 was perfect!! 😘❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohhh, you seem to have been extremely busy… but I know you don’t want to take chances on Netgalley reviews!
      As a matter of fact, I signed up for Netgalley and surprisingly was granted two ARC copies out of maybe 5 books. I got two books declined. For that reason, I really want to catch up with reading once I’ve made satisfactory headway in The Pillars of the Earth so that I won’t be declined for my requests at Netgally lol

      Thank you for understanding how frustrating and nervous it is to get lost… and yes! I am not a good driver either! I don’t particularly like driving. I can comfortably drive in the countryside but in big cities where they have multiple lanes … no, I cannot handle that lol

      Japanese sponge cake recipes might be quite different from ones in your country; I used to watch quite a lot of baking shows like Jamie Oliver’s FoodTube and found that sponge cake at least in Britain seems to use a lot of butter but in Japan, we use three whole eggs and only 20g of melted butter. I might as well a make a post on it in my new feature, what do you think? 🙂

      Like

      1. Yes, I’ve had 23 Netgalley approvals since May for my blog. I was declined one but that was because I requested it 2 days before it was published so it went into the archives, lol. I’m listed as an Educator reviewer, so all my credentials and college website, school email address and all that is on my form. I’m not registered as a blogger since I actually joined Netgalley before creating my blog, lol. I think that’s made it easier to get approval. I ask for a lot of books for my classes not just for my blog although I do that more on Edeweiss since they have more textbook type books. I have 8 between Netgalley and Edelweiss out right now to either write reviews for or finish reading and then review, lol. It can become easy to get too many books!

        Oh yes, I do understand! I absolutely get terrified! I’ve been known to cry while lost. And I will not drive on highways or interstates like you are talking about in big cities which is interesting since I live less than 5 min from a big city, lol.

        Our cakes call for lots of butter usually! Sometimes 2 sticks…I don’t know how much that is in grams since we Americans can’t use the metric system, lol. But it’s 1 cup. And we use a lot of eggs too! I’d love to see one of your recipes! We should compare an American sponge cake to a Japanese, lol. 😄

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Ah, the recipes are totally different! Probably the procedures are different, too!! Hmmm, you inspired me a bit. Maybe I’ll make a short, quick post on that this three-day weekend 😊✨

          Like

      1. Thanks, Shalini ! Let me lump up the answers here:
        Well, as for me being introvert, I actually am especially my offline self is quite an introvert. Once I get to know someone well, I open up to them and share my true feelings and thoughts, but otherwise, I’ll be reticent. But my online self is a bit more extrovert. But basically, I want my me-time where I can be myself. I need some time – ever briefly – when I can do whatever I want without being interrupted 🙂
        As for crocheting and baking, I simply follow the crocheting patterns and recipes, I never tweak around with them. So, they don’t need any creative gene. Got it? 🙂

        Like

  5. Thanks for the nomination Noriko! I’m definitely looking forward to these questions. Haha- same here! I’m a total bimbo when it comes to directions! If there’s ever a place I need to go that I’ve never been before, I just use Uber and be done with it – no need for stress!
    :))

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you for the nomination! I can’t decide which one I think you are fibbing about with the different 4 facts…and I don’t want to cheat and check the comments, lol. Ummm….maybe the idea that you are all thumbs? lol. I need to get caught up on my blog reading. This month has been crazy! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello! No worries, take as much time as you want, the same goes for me lol I really need to catch up on my reading!
      By the way, that’s honest of you – and the odd one out is… I’m a tone-deaf! Nope, I am not a tone-deaf, I was actually asked to be a vocalist in a band when I was in junior high!
      But of course, I turned it down. I am not a tone-deaf, but singing in front of others? That’s not for me.
      I guess my answers are kind of tricky because even with the false one contains a grain of truth – hehe!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply - Thank you!

