#Tidbits about Japan: Pizza Toppings

TGIF, everyone! How are you all doing?

Sparked by an inspiring and wonderful chat that I had with Nel@Reactionary Tales the other day, I decided to take full advantage of being Japanese and introduce this new feature on Japanese culture from now onwards 🙂

Let me remind you: I’m not big on Japanese culture nor a pro, so please take what I say here with a grain of salt; the general ideas I’m going to introduce in this feature can differ from region to region! Things can be totally different from a small city where I’m living and big cities like Tokyo!
Also, this is going to be a weekly (or biweekly: I haven’t decided yet) feature; I might fall behind in my updates at times, but I’ll try to keep to the schedule the best I can!

All right, enough of my yakking, let’s get started 😀

When I was racking my brain to come up with the very first topic, I could think of nothing else but this : Pizza toppings.
Again, this was sparked by the chat that I had with Nel AND so many comments that I got on The Sunshine Blogger Award post! There was a question asking what my favorite pizza toppings are and I answered potatoes and bacon and my fellow bloggers were like, ‘OMG, that’s a first for me!’ or something along those lines. More than anything, we all love food, yes?

So… here you go, these are what Japanese pizzas look like:

 

 

 

Obviously there’s neither time nor space to explain EVERYTHING, so I’ll just pick some of the toppings what I think uniquely Japanese or particular to Japan.

Potato Bacon

potato bacon

This is the choice that I made on my post and to my great surprise, it drew a lot of attention. This one is from one of the top pizza franchises in Japan and it’s got buttery cube cheese (supposed to give the ingredients an extra rich texture and flavor), potatoes and seasoned bacon on top of their special mayonnaise sauce.

Seafood Mix

seafood mix

I think this is a typical ‘seafood pizza’ in Japan. This one has got mayonnaise-flavored seafood (shrimp, squid, tuna) and boiled broccoli and onions on top of tomato sauce. You may get to choose the sauce either from tomato sauce or white sauce. Again, it depends on the franchise (or restaurant).

Teriyaki Chicken

teriyaki chikin

You cannot miss this one if you come to Japan – Teriyaki Chicken!
I don’t know if you have ever tried Teriyaki sauce which is unique to Japan, but it’s got a very bold and thick flavor which is great as a marinade or as a sauce served with your favorite meats. (you can watch how to make Teriyaki chicken here 🙂
The name is pretty self-explanatory and yes, here you have marinated chicken, corns, some shredded seaweed on top of their special mayonnaise sauce.

Mochi Potato Mentai

mochi potato mentai

Has any of you ever tried Mochi (rice cake)? We Japanese mainly have rice cake in January especially during the New Year’s holiday (Jan.1st – Jan 3rd), but we throw rice cake in pretty much everything as a topping. Another Japan-specific thing you should note here is Mentaiko (spicy cod roe) and it really goes with mayonnaise hence we have special mayonnaise sauce with boiled potatoes, bacon, onions, corns, and some shredded seaweed as toppings.

Crab Gratin

crab gratin

The last one that I’m sharing with you is ‘crab gratin.’ Yes, pretty much self-explanatory, and here’s the description of a major pizza franchise in Japan:
The sweetness of the crab is balanced by the saltiness of the pancetta under a blanket of creamy white sauce. With baked potato slices also in the mix, this is one hearty pizza!

003

As I told you before, it is next to impossible to introduce everything here, so I’ll put the links to two major pizza franchises in Japan. (Although Chicago Pizza is now available in Japan, but I couldn’t find the English page, so I guess that’ll have to do.)

 

There you have it; those are some examples of pizza toppings that are popular in Japan.
What do you think?? Have you tried any?
I hope you enjoyed this new feature and definitely let me know what you think!

Thank you so much for reading, and I’ll see you (hopefully) next week!

giphy-downsized

33 thoughts on “#Tidbits about Japan: Pizza Toppings

  1. Thanks, Jay! Haha, yes. The pizzas I introduced here look pretty heavy lol I agree with you on that.
    To be honest, I am not a big pizza person so I don’t know if there are any lighter options.. but I know simple corn pizzas available in Japan!

    Like

  2. Wow and you can get these right at Pizza hut and dominoes??? I want to try a slice of them all especially the seafood pizza! I’d probably do white sauce instead of red sauce though. I’m so excited for this new segment. Thank you! Can’t wait until the next one 🤗

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Nel! Glad you liked it! Yes, these are from Pizza hut and Dominoes, but these pizzas might not be available outside Japan. Oh, I have an idea, you hit your neighborhood pizzahut or dominoes and let me know you can have them!

      Like

      1. We don’t have any of those toppings. Just beef, ham, chicken and bacon. Variety of veggies and red or white sauce. Or BBQ sauce if you do BBQ chicken pizza. There’s no potato, definitely no seafood and no seaweed or roe.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Wow, toppings in the U.S. can be pretty simple… Oh, I didn’t mention in my post, but do you have a pizza called ‘tropical?’ or ‘Hawaiian?’ where you have pineapples, ham or things like that!

          Like

          1. Yeah! Hawaiian pizza is usually ham or bacon and pineapple. And I just thought about it but they do put seafood on pizza; anchovies. But I’ve never met anyone who liked anchovies on their pizza. Ever.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Haha! So, they put anchovies on pizza but not squid or shrimp… interesting! Judging from your reply, you don’t like anchovies, do you?

              Like

                    1. All of it! Authentic sushi and ramen and Japanese words and wildlife and the right way to do a greeting and popular animes cause I know they’re probably not the same as American. Oh and music! Is that enough so far? 😂

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. You’ve given me more than enough lol
                      Okay, Authentic sushi is definitely different from what you can get in the US. That’s gonna be on the next post!

                      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’d love to try potato on pizza, I’d never heard of that before! I think I’d like to try all of them, though I’m a little hesitant about the seafood one simply because I’m not sure how I’d feel about the mayonnaise part. But I’m sure if it was put in front of me I’d give it a try. I love this feature!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, thank you! I am so glad this new feature was warmly welcomed! Yay! Potato on pizza is definitely yummy ❤ Seriously, I love potatoes so obviously potato and bacon is my go-to choice!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s so interesting! The seafood one looks amaziiing! Here in Germany I had a potato pizza with white sauce one time, it’s a winter pizza… and was so delicious! Potato on pizza is the best!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’d been meaning to introduce some cultural stuff in japan, but didn’t get around to actually starting it. Nel definitely inspired me and gave me a push!

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you! I’m thinking of touching on some traditional culture such as ‘Kabuki,’ and of course, many more food posts to come. Stay tuned! 😉

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Jo-Ann for commenting! It might be a little bit heavy, but Mentai-mochi… what was that? I forgot… it’s pretty good, too!

      Like

Leave a Reply - Thank you!

