Tag: The ‘How I Choose My Books’ Tag

Hello, friends! I used to make a post under #WeekendReads every Friday, but from now onwards, I am going to do weekly wrap-ups on Sundays and do tags on Fridays (if I ever get tagged, that is).

Today, I’m doing the ‘How I Choose My Books’ tag’!
My sweet and dear friend, Stephanie@Stephanie’s Novel Fiction tagged me for this and I am so excited to do this 🙂
Thank you again, Stephanie for tagging me – if you haven’t already, go check out her blog since it has a lot to offer and her book reviews are really detailed and simply amazing. Her sweet and wonderful personality is beautifully reflected in her writing. You’re bound to enjoy!

 

Questions:

1. Find a Book on your shelves or e-reader with a blue cover. What made you want to pick up this book?

Gemina

I’ve got several books with blue cover, but I particularly like this cover. It’s glossy and I simply love the cover design. Plus, I bought this book last December but haven’t read yet. I picked this one up just to remind myself that I need to read this…
(Crap, I forgot to answer the reason why I got this book… Well, Jessethereader’s video!)

 

2. Think of a book you didn’t expect to enjoy, but did. Why did you read it in the first place?

24493739

A lot of people told me this book is dark and rather depressing with totally messed-up, dysfunctional characters but I fell in love with this cover when I found it through a BookTuber mementomori’s video and I knew I had to read this.
To my surprise and delight, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this. Yes, A LOT.  If you are interested, you can read my Goodreads review here.

 

3. Stand in front of your bookshelf with your eyes closed and pick a book at random. How did you discover this book?

the final empire

I found this one through Mollie Reads video. I simply adore every single video she puts out and watching her raving about this book made me want to pick this up.
I got the complete box set (paperbacks) last December, but once again, I haven’t read them yet… I’ll definitely need to pick them up – The Final Empire at least!

 

4. Pick a book that someone personally recommended to you. What did you think of it?

The pillars of the earth

I don’t think I have to tell you who recommended this book to me, and I haven’t even finished this one, YET I’m really liking this so far! I find the character relationships and names are a bit complicated to follow (I needed to refer to Wikipedia…), but the story-wise, I’M LOVING THIS. I think it’s astronomically unlikely, but I seriously hope that it doesn’t go south from here…

 

5. Pick a book that you discovered through YouTube / Book blogs. Did it live up to the hype?

History is all you left me

I found this book through reading Aweng@Beast Books stunning review. The moment I read her thoughts, I knew I had to read it and I finally got to finish it the other day.
This one, THIS ONE. Definitely lives up to the hype. This is such a stunningly beautiful, gripping, haunting read that captures readers’ hearts.  I now want to read more of Adam Silvera!

 

6. Find a book on your shelves or e-reader with a one-word title. What drew you to this book?

Dune

I must have been completely nuts when I bought this one… I was so into mementomori videos and was on a huge Classics kick back then.
To tell the truth, I am not a massive fan of Sci-Fi or fantasy, so I seriously have no idea what to do with this one…

 

7. What book did you discover through a film / TV adaptation?

The Jane Austen Book Club

I don’t watch film nor TV shows much now but I watched the movie adaptation many years ago and then I found that it was based on this book.
Although I didn’t like the book AT ALL (I gave this book solid 2 stars), I enjoyed the movie.

 

8. Think of your all-time favorite book/s. When did you read these and why did you pick them up in the first place?

the-kite

I think I downloaded this book through Goodreads recommendation or something… I no longer remember and it had been a while until I actually picked up this book. I read this early January this year.
I didn’t even know the synopsis when I downloaded it, so when I found out that this book centers on a wealthy Afghani boy and his servant’s son, it took me by surprise but I ended up loving this book. This is a beautiful, compelling book on friendship and redemption. This will definitely remain as my all-time favorite.

 

Landline

Again, I got this from Goodreads recommendation and read this last November. I didn’t even know anything about Rainbow Rowell when I downloaded this book (it was way before I got bitten by a bookworm bug), but once I started reading, Neal, Georgie’s husband, stole my heart and I found myself rooting for them to save their crumbling marriage. This is a great book and I absolutely adored the dramatic moments at the end of the book. Highly recommend it.

 

6084736

Awww… just thinking about this book makes my heart ache. I don’t know what it is, but this book, particularly the writing just captivated me. I never thought I’d enjoy an apocalyptic novel, but I ended up loving this book.
I no longer remember why I got this book, may be from reading Goodreads synopsis?? and I read this in April this year.

 

Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life
I first read this book in summer of 2013 or 2014?? Probably in 2013 because it was the time when I was reading kids’ books or middle-grade books like crazy. I remember downloading this book from Goodreads recommendation. This goes to show to what extent Goodreads affects me when choosing books…

 

I tag…

Jay@This-Is-My-Truth-Now
Nel@Reactionary Tales
Steph@Lost Purple Quill
Tina@Reading Between the Pages

If you have already done the tag, feel free to skip it, please do not feel obliged to do it again!
Any of you who wants to do this tag is certainly welcome – consider yourself tagged and jump right in!

 

That’s it, my friends. This concludes my How I Choose My Books Tag! Hope you enjoyed that!

Thank you so much for reading as always, see you in my next post!

Noriko

Popsicles

38 thoughts on “Tag: The ‘How I Choose My Books’ Tag

  1. I read Wuthering Heights expecting not to like it as well, but like you, I was surprised to really enjoy it. Finished reading it somewhen around 4am and was researching articles on the book until 7am… such a fascinating read! I look forward to Jane Eyre!
    I actually enjoyed Dune quite a lot. It reminded me more of a dystopia/epic than a sci-fi to be honest. But don’t read if it doesn’t interest you… nothing more frustrating than a long book which you don’t love.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I actually don’t have it yet! I’m considering getting a physical copy though (although on Amazon there is a Kindle version at $0.99). But I have no idea when I’ll get to it! And yes, once again the twin theory stands! I hope one day I can go to Japan so we could meet!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oooh, this is such an interesting tag! I may have to do it too at some point (if I don’t forget :D).
    I especially love the idea of picking a book at random and talking about what made me want to read it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, Silvia, please do this tag! I think it’ll be a fun video! Don’t worry about forgetting it; I’ll remind you! *wink*

      Like

  3. Oooh Noriko! Thanks for tagging me! In my opinion, the Dune cover is great and that pretty much where the greatness ends.. There are a lot of mixed opinions on that one. I’ve never actually read The Pillars of the Earth but I watched the TV series and absolutely loved it. I’ll have to read the book someday. Goodreads definitely has a great influence on a lot of my book choices as well. I get into so many Goodreads spirals!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello, Nel! You’re very welcome! Ohhh, that’s great to know that DUNE is also on your TBR! Yes, Goodreads is super influential! Goodreads spirals…. great naming!

      Like

  4. Good morning / Evening, Noriko! Thank you so much for tagging me on this one. I haven’t ever done it before. I’ll work on it this weekend. Very cool. You reminded me I have to check out JesseTheReader. I’ve seen it before, but I’m not normally one for videos. I’ll chance it. Thanks.

    As for some of your responses, I’m so glad you started Pillars and that you like it, even if there are so many characters. It takes a while, but then focuses on a core group. I picked up a few new books from here, too. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good evening /morning, Jay! You’re very welcome 🙂 I’m glad I got to tag you for something you haven’t done! Finally! 😀
      Wow, I didn’t know that you have seen Jessethereader’s videos. recently, he’s been only making Bookish fan videos rather than book reviews or wrap-ups, but I remember seeing Gemina on his wrap-up and TBR videos.
      As for the pillars, yes, it’s complicated (maybe) but it’s not ‘stressing and driving me crazy’ frustration but a positive one! I’m really, really enjoying it and so glad you did give me the push which I needed.
      Thank YOU Jay, this is so great that we are influencing each other (uh, I’m afraid your influence is much bigger than mine, I know but.)!

      Liked by 1 person

        1. That’s sweet of you to say 🙂 By the way, Gemina is a sequel to Illuminae, and the third one is probably coming out this fall. Have you read Illuminae?? If not, I recommend you read Illuminae first. I heard some characters from Illuminae do appear in Gemina in addition to the new cast of characters. And let me tell you – illuminae is kind of doozy lol

          Liked by 1 person

  5. Ahhh thank you for the tag, I haven’t seen this one before. There’s some good reads here, but the only one I’ve read and loved is The Kite Runner. Wuthering Heights has been on my list for far too long…sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very welcome, Tina! Wuthering Heights can be a hit and miss though I ended up liking it a lot. Oh, but Joseph’s speech is IMPOSSIBLE to understand without props lol

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you for the sweet words my friend!! ❤❤❤ You are too sweet!! I love your answers! I love Wuthering Heights…so tragic and passionate! And Pillars of the Earth is wonderful! You have some excellent books on here! Dune though, lol….awful book unless you like sci-fi, which I don’t! It’s probably one of my nonreader husband’s favorites, so I don’t know what to make of that, lol! ❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very welcome, Stephanie! Remember that I’m always striving to be honest… I mean what I say. It’s not like i’m trying to impress others with being sweet and the like.
      Dune… Oh Dune… I’ve already heard that Dune is great so I’ll give it a go at some time in my life but I just don’t know when lol
      Someone must PUSH me so hard into reading this… haha!

      Like

      1. I know you are!! You are just a very honest and refreshing person. I appreciate that because it’s rare at times! Oh you don’t have to read Dune unless you feel you must!! Not all books have to be read…I’m telling you this with my professor hat on, lol. If your not going to enjoy it, don’t read it just because it’s supposed to be great literature. Dune is well written from a literary standpoint but boring as dirt. I’d rather watch water boil than ever pick that book up again!! What’s great for one reader is not great to another…..as we see in the myriad book reviews each week 😉😀

        Liked by 1 person

        1. lol Boring as dirt… Yes it’s surprising how differ our opinions on a book can be… but then again, that kind of gives me a reason or urge to see what I think about it by reading with my own two eyes 🙂

          Like

          1. Lol, then you should definitely give it a try! I can’t wrap my head around anything sci-fi, whether it’s movies or books, so that’s probably why I disliked it so much, lol! I just can’t handle it….

            Liked by 1 person

              1. So much, lol. I’ve never even seen Star Wars I dislike it so much, lol. Although I’d probably enjoy it. But ugh!! It’s my husband’s fault for watching the same episodes of Star Trek over and over for a decade until I thought my eyes would bleed!! And every other Sci-fi you can think of. He has no shame when it comes to repeats but asks me if I’m rereading a book, lol!!

                Liked by 1 person

                1. Oh my gosh, it’s so funny…. even though (and obviously) you must have displayed your dislike for Sci-Fi in any form, your husband’s abiding love for Sci-Fi must have made him blind lol

                  Like

                  1. Lol, no, he knows but pretends to be blind, haha! He’s not as bad now as he was since he has for some reason tired of the tv and instead would rather play video games where he kills giant aliens or engages in space missions, lol!! This I don’t have to watch since he’s banished to another room since the games aren’t appropriate for a 7 yr old to watch !! Thank goodness for her saving me or I’d be stuck in Star Trek repeat over and over, lol. Which is sad because I used to watch the repeats of the original show with my mother and enjoyed them. He ruined that although I will say I will always have a fondness for Dr Spock. ❤

                    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thank you for tagging me!! This one looks fun, and I loved your answers! I know so many people who dislike Wuthering Heights, but I LOVED it when I read it a few years ago. I loved how dark and messed up it is. I’ve also had Pillars of the Earth on my TBR for a while, but you’re making me feel more hyped to read it!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very welcome, Steph! I think this tag is really fun to do. I am glad you also LOVED Wuthering Heights, like you, I enjoyed the dark, abject vibe running through the book! I even wanted to visit Northern parts of England!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Thanks for mentioning me! I’m super glad you loved “History is All You Left Me”. Yaay! Adam Silvera’s debut novel, “More Happy than Not” is a moving read too if you want more of his work. The guy can pull some heartstrings without even trying!

    Anyway, I haven’t read most of the books you have here but Wuthering Heights is one of my all time favorites. I own two copies because I love both covers.. Hahaha… I’ve also enjoyed Pillars of the Earth although it’s been years ago since I read it and now I couldn’t recall everything that happened. Time for a reread, maybe. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very welcome, Aweng, because it’s true 🙂 I fell in love with your review and decided to read the book! Thank you for navigating me to such a wonderful book 🙂
      I am glad that you like Wuthering Heights, too. I haven’t written the review on it yet, so I think I’ll come back to it sometime later (maybe this fall?) and make a post on it.

      Like

  9. I also watched and loved The Jane Austen Book Club movie. I just read Fowler’s book, We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves and enjoyed it and would like to read others from her but I don’t think the Austen book would be my top pick.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for commenting! Well, The Jane Austen Book Club didn’t work for me unfortunately. But now that We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves entertained you, I might as well give the book a try!

      Like

Leave a Reply - Thank you!

