Throwback Thursday: Little Brother by Cory Doctorow

Hello, everybody! Upon my latest milestone of achieving 100 followers (thank you so much!) I’ve decided to branch out and try new some features 🙂

Throwback Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Renee at It’s Book Talk and is a way to share some of your old favorites as well as sharing books that you want to read that were published over a year ago.  This is a great way to bring some of your old favorites back to life.
If you have your own Throwback Thursday recommendation feel free to jump on board, and you’re welcome to use Renee’s pic as well. If you’d just link back to her@It’s Book Talk she’d so appreciate it!

 

So, this is officially my very first post on Throwback Thursday and my pick is…

Little Brother

Little Brother by Cory Doctorow
First published on January 1st, 2008

 

Goodreads Synopsis

Marcus aka “w1n5t0n,” is only seventeen years old, but he figures he already knows how the system works–and how to work the system. Smart, fast, and wise to the ways of the networked world, he has no trouble outwitting his high school’s intrusive but clumsy surveillance systems.

But his whole world changes when he and his friends find themselves caught in the aftermath of a major terrorist attack on San Francisco. In the wrong place at the wrong time, Marcus and his crew are apprehended by the Department of Homeland Security and whisked away to a secret prison where they’re mercilessly interrogated for days.

When the DHS finally releases them, his injured best friend Darryl does not come out. The city has become a police state where every citizen is treated like a potential terrorist. He knows that no one will believe his story, which leaves him only one option: “M1k3y” will take down the DHS himself.

004

I read this book probably 3 to 4 years ago and remember enjoying it a lot.
Coinciding with Edward Snowden’s whistleblowing case, my interest towards this book literally piqued.
Although much of my memory about this book has already become rather vague, I still remember all the excitement and suspenseful moments that literally kept me on the edge of my seat.  This is a pretty gripping, thrilling read and is definitely one of the books that I want to reread (and now that I pulled up this book from my ‘read’ shelf and brought it to the spotlight, I’ll be most likely to read it this month or in the coming month 😛 )

Has any of you read this book before? If so, what were your thoughts??
Feel free to comment below, let me know what you think!

That’s it for today.
Thank you so much as always and happy reading!

13 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Little Brother by Cory Doctorow

    1. Did you read this book, too?? That’s awesome! I haven’t read the sequel yet, but I’ll definitely read it once i’ve finished reading this one!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I really enjoyed this book. I remember the writing was pretty strong, solid and intense. The plot is also intense and gripping too. Highly recommend it!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, thank you, Kristin! I am so glad you liked my new feature! This book is really gripping with a thrilling plot. The writing is super descriptive as far as I can remember… I definitely need to reread it to see how I feel about the book now!

      Like

Leave a Reply - Thank you!

