Pancakes and Corpses by Agatha Frost

Pancakes and Corpses

 

Soon to be divorced Julia South never expected to be caught up in solving a murder, until she discovered the body of her cafe’s most awkward customer. With a new smug Detective Inspector in town who underestimates her every move, Julia makes it her mission to discover the real murderer, before her village friends are dragged into the frame, and more bodies are discovered.

A light, cozy mystery read with a cat loving and cafe owning female amateur sleuth, in a small village setting with quirky characters. No cliffhanger, swearing, gore or graphic scenes. (Goodreads)


 

There’s a pretty scathing, biting opinion ahead – buckle up!

I could not finish this book; I gave this up at 87%. I just simply didn’t feel like reading it any more. I picked this up because of its tantalizing, beautiful cover, but it wasn’t strong enough a draw to keep me engaged in the book.

I thought the writing is pretty decent; it conveys the sudden shift of atmosphere or characters’ countenance really well, it even sent chills down my spine at times, yet the plot seemed a bit too weak and the characters are poorly drawn or underdeveloped. They didn’t leave much impact which is quite a drawback for me.

The mystery element was actually enjoyable until a bit over halfway through the book. The story is NOT in told in the first person but basically the plot progresses from Julia – the protagonist’s standpoint, so we follow the murder case through the perspective of Julia.
As she goes deeper into the double homicide case, the plot thickens and she runs into who seems to be the prime suspect one after another, literally everybody seems to have a motive which I find interesting. I actually enjoyed and wondered how it would turn out, how everything would fall into place, but alas, the culprit revelation felt a bit too slippery and underwhelming; it didn’t hit me nor sink in on me as much I would have liked (That was where I decided to give it up.)

Again, the writing is not bad at all, it’s decent and good enough to keep me engaged pretty close to the end, but it didn’t suffice to win over my interest and drive me to the ending.
The fault may have lain with me, not the book’s fault, but this book just didn’t click with me as well as I had hoped this time.

If you are into cozy mystery, you might enjoy this but for someone like me who likes evocative books, probably this might not be for you.

Might come back when I’m in the right frame of mind. But just not anytime soon, I’m afraid.

I gave this book – I’m terribly sorry, but 1 out of 5 stars – it has gone to the DNF zone…

18 thoughts on “Pancakes and Corpses by Agatha Frost

  1. I hadn’t heard of this one before! What a pity you didn’t like it… I might look into it, cozy mysteries are kind of my guilty pleasure (when well executed) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Naty! Trust me – I really wanted to love this book! I really tried, but I just couldn’t… but hey, I may still have been having a book hangover after reading The Hate U Give?? I might as well give it a try sometime later…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That could be it! I tried starting Lab Girl 1 day after finishing THUG and couldn’t… haven’t touched the book since! I guess THUG just leaves that strong an impression…

        Liked by 1 person

                    1. Comparing our books can reveal how many we have in common! And I totally agree with you!
                      By the way, What if? is a book written by someone who’s keen on mathmatics?? I have both The Night Circus and What If on my shelf… lol

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. Yes, the guy who wrote What If worked for NASA, and he publishes comics online(https://xkcd.com). The book answers absurd questions in a scientific and funny way, I think if you like the comics from the website, you’ll like the book. It’s quite funny! But to be honest I am not sure it’s for everyone’s taste… I am not sure how much physics is something people want to read on their free time, even if it’s funny and not too heavy on technical vocab.

                      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply - Thank you!

