June Wrap-Up

We are now officially halfway through the year.
Here in Japan and at least where I’m living in, there’s a rapid rise in temperature and combined with super high humidity (brace yourself, everyone – it’s over 80%, it was close to 100% yesterday), I am almost DEAD. I cannot stand this weather… even though this is my birth month, I. JUST. CANNOT.

Enough of my rambling (grumble), I’d love to take a moment and reflect on how well (bad) I did in the month of June.

004

Reading

I read 9 books in June. Although I finished ‘All the Light We Cannot See’ on June 1st, I did much of the reading at the end of May, I decided not to include it in my June reading.

 

I finished 8 books PLUS a non-fiction book which I’ll refrain from talking much about (I’m asked to write a review for a magazine), all told, I read 9 books last month.
Although some of them are on the short side, 9 books including one non-fiction book which I wouldn’t normally go to, seems like quite an achievement.

I enjoyed most of the books that I read in June, it was a great reading month 🙂

icons  Favorite:

I’m still fluctuating between The Keeper of Lost Things and The Nightwalker, but I think I’ll pick The Nightwalker. This mind-bending, creepy psychological thriller really took me by surprise.
Although I do looove heart-warming, beautiful stories, I basically favor books that have creepy, spine-chilling vibes and moments, so… there’s that.

icons  Disappointment:

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. I cannot articulate what it was about this book that disappointed me, but I just didn’t love this book. I do see the value in it and appreciate the subject matter dealt in the book, but it didn’t crick with me as much as I had hoped.

003

Blog Stats

Now, this is what surprised me the most. As you can see below, the views and the number of visitors have nearly doubled since May.  Since April, the numbers have quadrupled.  Seriously??!! What in the world is going on?!

stats

Even more surprising is the number of likes/comments:

stas 2

I still cannot wrap my head around, but I truly appreciate all your likes, comments and support. Thank you so much for being so supportive and welcoming to me!! You guys are the best!! 😀 ❤

004

Awards:

It’s surprising to see how many awards I was nominated for last month.
Until last month (or at the end of May), I hadn’t even know there was such a thing like awards in this blog community nor had I ever imagined I would be nominated for them.

Once again, thank you so much for the nomination and my sincere thanks goes to all of you who have liked, commented on my posts and even followed my blog.
It means the world to me 🙂

square 002

Tags:

I didn’t use to do tags (again, I didn’t even know… lol), but I now realized how fun it is to participate in those tags and make myself known to other bloggers/readers 🙂

My answers used to be pretty short in the tags that I did early last month, but I tried to give more detailed (in most cases, way too detailed??) answers as I went well into the month.
Some of my posts might have ended up way too lengthy, I’m sorry about that!

003

All in all, June turned out to be a great, fulfilling month for me and my book blog.
Thank you so, so much for sticking around. I really appreciate your support and all the love you have given me ❤

Let’s hope July will be even better for all of us!

Thank you so much for reading, I’ll see you in my next post 😀

 

Noriko

summer 3

8 thoughts on “June Wrap-Up

  1. Gosh! I’ve only finished 2 books and most of my current reads are still waiting to be divulge by my eyes and my mind! I’m in one of my worst book slumps last month so that explains a lot and I’m currently reading them and hopefully, I’ll be able to be post my reviews on them this month. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks! To tell the truth, I have yet to experience so-called reading slump (I know, I’m fortunate) so I’m not quite sure what it’s like to be slumpy, but hopefully, you’ll get out of your reading slump and post many more reviews! *wink* 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Oh it’s not a nice experience actually. Like you’ve wanted to read a book so badly but whenever you try to do it, words just float around you and you can’t even understand what you’re reading. Sometimes, you’re mind would just went blank while reading and it’s frustrating.

          Thanks! I’ve been out of that slump lately and I’m re-reading Harry Potter right now. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Ughhh, that’s frustrating, no doubt! I might go crazy if the words that I read don’t make any sense… let’s hope we won’t experience such reading slump again!

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply - Thank you!

