#WeekendReads & Emojiathon Wrap-Up (Final)

Hello, everyone! Like it or not, June is almost over – this is June 30th (in Japan) and it’s time for doing my Emojiathon wrap-up and sharing a book that I’ll be reading over this weekend.

Let’s start off with my Emojiathon wrap-up. I set out 7 challenges for this Readathon, you can check out my challenges here.

Out of those 7 challenges, I completed 6 challenges as follows:

HeartRead a romance or contemporary
My Sweet Revenge by Jane Fallon : Complete!  (for my thoughts: here)

smile  Read a book you bought because of its cover 
The Keeper of Lost Things : Complete! (For my thoughts: here)

freebie Freebie! Read any book
Paige’s Turn by Jennifer Peel : Complete! (For my thoughts: here)

horror  Read a thriller or horror
The Nightwalker by Sebastian Fitzek : Complete! (For my thoughts: here)

eyes  Read a book you’ve been seeing everywhere
The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood : Complete! (For my thoughts: here)

baby  Read a 2016/2017 release
When Dimple Met Rishi by Sadhya Menon : Complete! (For my thoughts: here)

 

The only challenge I failed to complete was ‘To read a book about a current event.’
I picked up The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas for this, but I’m only halfway through the book and it’s apparent that I cannot complete it by the end of today. So, there you have it – 6 out of 7 challenges. I still count it as a victory 🙂

Which leads me to my weekend reads. I’ll definitely continue reading ‘The Hate U Give’ by Angie Thomas.

The Hate U Give

Seriously, I cannot figure out why it took me so long to pick this up – I got this book at the beginning of March, but I hadn’t gotten around to reading it.  All the hype and this book being a YA must have put me off a little bit.

But why, how strong this book is – I do find some parts/scenes are slightly  redundant and monotonous, yet there are incredibly gripping scenes that evoke my feelings … I even had some scenes where I felt my blood boiling. Again, I’m only halfway through the book, but I’m convinced this book will topple my world and perspectives upside-down and I cannot wait to find out what big an effect this book will have on me.

I’m so glad that I participated in this Emojiathon. I probably wouldn’t have picked this one up otherwise.

 

So, that’s it! This concludes my Emojiathon wrap-up and weekly updates in the month of June.
How about you? What are the books you’re currently reading or planning to read?
Let me know in the comments and I’ll see you in my next post!
Hope you have a fabulous weekend 🙂

Noriko

 

Note: I’ve decided to change my Handle name for WordPress from ‘Norin’ to ‘Noriko,’ which is my name. Don’t be a stranger! It’s me! lol

Popsicles

12 thoughts on “#WeekendReads & Emojiathon Wrap-Up (Final)

  1. I love your Popsicles at the end! Cute! I’m still reading Vision in Silver by Anne Bishop. Since I’m finally going to have a breather of a weekend (July 4th is a holiday here) I’m hoping to finish this book as well as the other 2 books in the series this weekend. Then I don’t know what I’m going to read next, haha. Gonna have to check my giant TBR list on Goodreads!
    What did you think of the Handmaid’s Tale? Don’t tell me if you plan to release it in a post! I’m content with waiting 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s not you. My mom tried to read it and couldn’t get through it. She couldn’t explain why she didn’t like it she just didn’t. I haven’t read it for years but I remember liking it enough. Still on the fence about checking out the show though

        Liked by 1 person

              1. I have Netflix, Amazon prime, showtime and HBO. Hahaha. I don’t watch the last 3 except for one showed here and there but they’re must watches so I pay.

                Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Naty! I should have tried to better to complete all the challenges, but I read 3 (4?) books outside this challenge, so it turned out to be a great reading month. I’ll plan on doing June wrap-up soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply - Thank you!

