Birthday Book Shopping List & July TBR

 

Hello, everyone!  As you can see in my TAG: Who I Am post,  my birthday is coming around less than a week (hahaaaa).

As I bought way too many books AND pretty much everything that I’d had my eyes on, I don’t think I’ll be buying a lot of books in the month of July.
That said, there are a few books I still want to read so I decided to treat myself to some books for my birthday, I’m going to buy (yes, I AM GOING TO BUY) them before my birthday arrives 😁

Here are the books I still want to read:

  • Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by  Becky Albertalli 
  • Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
  • All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda 
  • The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follet

 

Other than The Pillars of the Earth, I don’t know much about the plot. As usual, the cover caught my eye and they have been making the rounds in this book community, I thought I had to read them.

As for The Pillars of the Earth, this has been on my radar for quite some time, like, since last October or November but the sheer volume of the book (around 1,000 pages) literally intimidated me.
In spite of that, I decided to pick this one up because some of my friends (including you, Jay) VEHEMENTLY recommended that I should definitely read this. I skimmed through the first few pages at Amazon and I found it quite gripping right from the beginning, so this one is no doubt a must buy.

 

Now onto my July TBR.
Being a mood reader, I used to think that this TBR thing would never work for me but given the number of challenges that I completed in my very first Readathon, I think I’ll keep making monthly TBR list from now on.
In the month of July, I plan to read:

 

  • The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
  • The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett
  • Summer Days & Summer Nights (YA Anthology)
  • The Shining by Stephen King
  • History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera
  • Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentmer
  • Most Secret by Nevil Shute

 

Summertime makes me want to read a lot more YA than I usually do, so I threw in three YA books for July reads.
So as to balance things out, I’m going to read two Classics and one of them is my favorite (I’ve only read one book though) Nevil Shute. I so fell in love with his ‘On the Beach’ that I read last April, I am so pumped to read this.
To tell the truth, I debated whether to throw in another Wartime novel, ‘Catch-22,’ but given the fact that I’m going to read The Pillars of the Earth, I wasn’t quite sure if I could handle it so I decided against it.
I think this is pretty much all I can handle in a month, but if things go swimmingly, I might throw some short cozy mysteries into the mix.
Whatever the case may be, I cannot wait to find out how my July reading plays out.

 

There you have it; those are my birthday book shopping list and July TBR.
Thank you so much for reading as always, hope you have a fabulous reading month!

Noriko

 

Song of the Day:

 

15 thoughts on “Birthday Book Shopping List & July TBR

    1. Aha! This is actually going to be a re-read for me, I read that two years ago (I think ) and I didn’t like it; I gave it 2 stars 😂 But after two years, I’m curious to see if my thoughts will be any different this time✨📚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. My goodness, so sorry that I took so long to notice your comment, and thank you! Well, 3 months sees rather long, but trust me, time does fly fast; look at where we are now – it’s already July! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I am very curious to see what you think of The Catcher in the Rye! I personally didn’t like it, but so many people do… and Pillars of the Earth definitely goes faster than it looks! I hope you enjoy it. Happy early birthday, I will try to keep in mind to congratulate on the right day! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww, how sweet you are and thank you!
      As for The Cather in the Rye, this is going to be a re-read for me and I’m curious to know how I’ll feel about the book myself. The pillars of the Earth felt pretty engrossing, so I hope I can fly through the book as you said!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! And yes, I’ll definitely plan on writing a review for The Catcher in the Rye! I’ll try the best I can to better express my thoughts.

      Like

Leave a Reply - Thank you!

