The Unique Blogger Award

Thank you so much, Nel@Recreational Tales, for nominating me for this amazing award – The Unique Blogger Award – I just can’t wrap my head around how this could have ever happened to me. Me? Being Unique? OH. MY. GOSH. That was my initial response to this nomination.
Thank you so, so much, Nel, once again for nominating me – it’s been such a pleasure to read her inspiring, eclectic posts ranging from beautiful pics to thought-provoking posts on endangered animals. Her posts really reflect what a great person she is. I know you already have, but if you haven’t, go check out her blog! It’s really enlightening and inspiring.

The Rules:

  • Share the link of the blogger who has shown love to you by nominating you.
  • Answer the questions.
  • In the spirit of sharing love and solidarity with our blogging family, nominate 8-13 people for the same award.
  • Ask them 3 questions.

 

Questions:

If you could pick a book to turn into a movie adaptation, what would it be?

dark-matter

I would pick Dark Matter by Blake Crouch. I read this Sci-Fi thriller last October and was literally blown away. It is so mind-bending and toppled my world and conception upside down. Funny thing is that, this is exactly what Naty@Naty’s Bookshelf and I talked about a couple of days ago. We both enjoyed this book so much and discussed this book would definitely make a fantastic Sci-Fi movie if realized. I really want to see how film production teams visualize the mind-bending, earth-shattering scene that arrives in the last 100 pages or so. (If you have read the book, you probably can guess what scene I’m talking about).

What inspires you most about your blog?

I am not quite sure if I got this question right, but what really inspires me about this blog is my love of reading and urge to share my thoughts with like-minded people all over the world through English. I’m Japanese and have never lived nor studied abroad. I’m a complete self-taught learner of English (I ditched the idea of painstaking study a long ago though) and simply LOVE writing in English. Those two passions keep me motivated and inspired to continue blogging. Last but definitely NOT least, what really keeps me going is the interactions that I get to have with all of you – you readers! Every single comment, every single ‘like’ you’ve given me brought me this far – I’m extremely happy and glad that I started this blog.
Thank you so, so much for your support. It means so much to me and I cannot thank you enough.

What author inspired you (doesn’t have to be a book; can be film director or music composer)?

As I said in my June Book Haul post, I haven’t read as many authors’ books as you have, so I would go for my all-time favorite musician, Steve Porcaro and his late brother, Jeff Porcaro. Steve Porcaro, a great keyboardist from TOTO has been my music hero since I was in high school. Although he left the band after the release of their sixth album, ‘Fahrenheit,’ he kept working and touring with them up until their seventh record, ‘The Seventh One’ (He later got reinstated in the band in 2010). Steve’s composition, chord progressions are simply beautiful and very introspective. There’s always something that grips my heart. (Sidenote: he wrote Michael Jackson’s ‘Human Nature’). Only three of his songs made the cut in TOTO’s catalogue until he left the band, but all of those three songs, in particular, the first two, ‘Takin’ It Back’ and ‘It’s a Feeling,’ are pretty haunting and addictive to me. I swear I could keep them going the entire day. As for Jeff Porcaro, I don’t think I need to go on explaining what a great drummer he was. There’s nothing like his groove and his execution on hi-hats; they’re very distinct and I loved every single piece of his work; there’s no drummer like Jeff for me. It’s so sad he left this world from pesticide-induced heart failure on August 5th, 1992. It was the saddest day of my life but I will never forget the legacy he left for us.

What’s your favorite Disney Song???

Tough question!! A big confession to make; I didn’t grow up with Disney films nor have I ever been a big fan of Disney because of the lack of exposure. I’ve only watched a handful of Disney films such as The Lion King, The Lion King 2, Tarzan, Hercules, Mulan, Atlantis, and oh, Frozen! That’s pretty much everything I’ve watched.
So the question is… what is my favorite Disney song… I think songs in Disney films are all pretty awesome and well composed, but I would go for ‘He Lives in You’ from The Lion King 2.
I could tell the overall quality of the movie kind of pales in comparison to The Lion King. I enjoyed The Lion King 2 a lot. It’s still a nice, moving film but it didn’t hit me as strongly as the first one did.
That said though, despite its slightly lackluster quality, I loved this song. Again, it doesn’t hit me as much as it did when I first watched this film, but I still like this A LOT. The whole ‘Mufasa watches over Simba from high up in the sky’ thing never fails to move me.

 

My Questions:

  • Out of five senses (sight, hearing, taste, smell and touch), what is the most important to you and why?
  • If you could recreate one food from your favorite books/films/TV shows etc., what would it be and why?
  • What was your favorite and least favorite subject in school and why?

 

My Nominees:

I nominated the bloggers that I recently got connected and have a very distinct ‘voice,’ in my eyes. As I don’t want to inundate my fellow bloggers with so many tags (and I am kind of guilty about that), I’ll cap the number of my nominees at seven this time.
That said though, you – my dear readers are all ‘unique’ and lovely to me. Please remember that ❤
(To my nominees: If you’ve already done this tag or don’t to tags, feel free to skip it. Please do not feel pressured to do it!)

Thank you so much for reading as always, I hope you enjoyed this!
I’ll talk to you all again soon 🙂

25 thoughts on “The Unique Blogger Award

  1. You’re welcome! I also love that Lion King 2 song! It can be interpreted so many ways and it’s just so beautiful! Congratulations and thanks for answering the questions 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My pleasure, Nel! Thank you so much for the nomination, it’s been so much fun answering those questions!
      I’m glad that you love The Lion King 2 song, too! I fell in love with the song the moment when I first listened to it. Simply moving and beautiful 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very welcome, Jo-Ann!! Your blog is very unique, making readers feel like taking a walk with you, I love that ❤️
      Cannot wait to see your answers✨

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Kawther, for such sweet words! I’m literally striving to make my blog grow, to make it better than the previous day. Your words mean much to me, thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello again! Like with your other tag, I’ll leave my responses here.

    1. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard because I think it would be visually very interesting.
    2. What inspires me most about my blog is the tremendous support I’ve amassed in a short amount of time. There are a lot of bookworms out there and I’m happy that so many of them found their way to my site.
    3. Marina Keegan inspires me because her writing is fresh and real.
    4. My favorite Disney song? Ugh anything from Aladdin–that movie was my favorite growing up. (Let’s be real, it still is my favorite.)

    Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply - Thank you!

