June Book Haul

Hello, everyone! This is not technically a book haul, this is just a monthly book-buying which ended up being way over my budget (again, yes), but I’m going to share with you the books that I bought this month. I’m pretty much certain that I’ve bought all the books that had been on my radar or I had been meaning to buy, but we’ll see…

Here are the images of the books that I’ve bought this month (so far):

I completely lost track of the number while I was buying them, but I ended up buying 17 books… this is plain crazy lol  But only five are physical copies (paperbacks) and most of the Kindle books were on special offers (or incredibly low-priced), so the number itself is pretty staggering, but as far as the bottom line goes, it didn’t put me in much of a strain.

Totally unexpected was this:

Kindle

Yes, my new Kindle Fire 7 which came out on June 7th. I didn’t even intend to buy this, but I noticed what had stopped me from reading on my Kindle was the colorless, black-and-white display of my Kindle Paperwhite. As you guys know, I do AN AWFUL LOT of cover buy. I am an epitome of ‘judging-a-book-by-its-cover’ reader, so not being able to appreciate beautiful covers means quite a downside to me 😦

It’s been more than a week since I got this baby and I’m really enjoying the reading experience. This won’t change my preference for physical books but I’m now more inclined to read on my Kindle than before unless physical books seem more appropriate than e-books (For instance, I don’t think books like ‘Everything Everything’ and ‘Illuminae’ will work well with e-book formats; they do contain a lot of graphics and I’m not quite sure how truthfully e-book formats can recreate and visualize them.) If you have such e-books and think they work perfectly well, definitely let me know. I might change my mind about e-books in general 😀

In addition to those books, my dear Twitter friend (she likes reading English books, too) got me Jane Green ‘Summer Secrets’

I asked her to get ‘Summer Days & Summer Nights,’ a collection of short stories by popular YA authors on behalf of me and then she decided to throw in that book, too!
I don’t know if you can tell from the pic, but the SPINE IS ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS with an alternative stripe pattern of different shades of blue, I fell in  love with it.
This is going to be my very first Jane Green (as a newbie, there are so many authors whose books I have never read…), and I am so excited to read it this summer!
Thank you, my friend! I know you’re reading this, I cannot thank you enough for all the love toward me ❤

 

That’s it for today. Those are the books I recently bought and plan to read during this summer (not everything, but hopefully).
What are the books you’re planning to read or you’re anxiously waiting?
Let me know in the comments and I’ll talk to you all again soon 🙂

29 thoughts on “June Book Haul

    1. Thanks, Aweng! I actually decided to buy ‘History is All You Left Me’ from reading your review! I decided to get this one in my next book shopping. It’s simply wonderful that we keep influencing each other. So much fun!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Naty! It’s a bit shameful that I haven’t read this super popular psychological thriller, but I’m so excited to see if it’ll live up to the hype! I’ve heart a lot of good things about it, so I have high hopes for it being good 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. The Jane Green book looks gorgeous! I haven’t read anything by her either — you’re not alone! I also love the cover of Uncoventional. I’m curious to hear your thoughts on that one after you’ve finished it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Silvia! I really love that cover- it’s soooo pretty ❤
      Unconventional was not even on my radar, but the aforementioned twitter friend put a picture on Twitter and I instantly wanted to get one too! (As you can guess, we do a lot of cover-buy… :P)

      Like

    1. Thanks, Lauren! I’ve heard only good things about Goodbye Days and History Is All You Left Me, so I couldn’t resist the urge! I am glad to hear that you really enjoyed Unconventional! It was incredibly low-priced when I bought it. Your feedback makes me even more excited to read it! Definitely let you know what I think once I’ve finished 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Jay! I threw in some cozy mysteries because the covers look so tantalizing and pretty. I’ll do my best to write the reviews that won’t disappoint you! 😛

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Katrina! Kindle Fire has been acting pretty well so far; the responses are pretty fast yet it slows every now and then especially after charging the battery. As you guessed, the battery life is much shorter than Paperwhite even with Airplane mode turned on. I bought this one specifically for reading thus I don’t usually need wi-fi, so i put my Fire to Airplane mode. But the battery gets low pretty quickly; say, about four days with a 30 min to 1 hr reading per day, I guess?

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m currently reading When Dimple Met Rishi and my goodness, it’s HILARIOUS! I don’t think I have ever laughed out loud over a book so hard for years. It’s so much fun to read, I’m liking it so far!

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Yes, it does! And seriously, the cover of Words in Deep Blue is STUNNING, So pretty, I fell in love with the cover. i’ve heard only good things about both of them, so I am so excited to see how the stories unravel!

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I have heard a lot of good things about this book, like, down-to-last page twisty. I am really looking forward to reading this!

      Like

Leave a Reply - Thank you!

