Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

Hello, everyone! Here comes another tag time; I’ve recently been tagged by mojoreb @Book Mojo for this Mid Year Book Freak Out tag and I’m definitely all game for the challenge!

If you haven’t already, go check out his blog. His in-depth reviews are simply impressive.

Without further ado, let’s get on with the tag 🙂

 

Questions:

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2017:

This is a tough one! These two books are actually almost on the same level so I would pick The Kite Runner by  Khaled Hosseini and All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr.  They are both stunningly beautiful, haunting books. They literally broke my heart and I love them.

2. Best sequel of 2017 so far:

winter

Winter by Marissa Meyer. It would probably have been a toss-up between ‘The Crooked Kingdom’ and ‘Winter’ if I had read the latter, but I still haven’t, so ‘Winter’ got the first prize on this one. It’s such a tome with whopping 800 page count but there was never a dull moment. I actually felt so sad as I got close to the end. This is such an epic book.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to:

Goodbye Days

Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner. I’ve heard only good things about this and mojoreb’s review actually sold me on this one. His whirling emotions were heartfelt. You can read his stunning review here.

4. Most anticipated release of the second half of 2017:

Sleeping Beauties

Big confession time – I have NEVER read a single book by Stephen King.
I HAVE read two books by his son, Joe Hill last year and I enjoyed them both, but I haven’t gotten around to reading any Stephen King books yet and know almost nothing about him; his writing style, his delivery…  literally NOTHING. I’m totally in the dark.
That said though, there is absolutely NO way to miss this father-son collaboration that’s coming out on September 26. I’m on it.

5. Biggest disappointment of 2017:

The Jane Austen Book Club

I basically try to find redeeming elements and good things in every book I read. That said, no books that I read this year could top The Jane Austen Book Club in the ‘disappoint’ department. This book is definitely not my thing; it was painful to read at times.

6. Biggest surprise:

chasing-echoes

Chasing Echoes by Jodi Perkins.  I received an e-book copy in exchange for an honest review and I started this book with lower expectations as a matter of fact. But this book genuinely surprised me in a lot of ways; the plot with ‘shrinking time loop’ is well-crafted and refreshing, and the latter part is such a page-turner. I really enjoyed reading this.

7. Favorite new author (debut or new to you):
Celeste Ng.  Everything I Never Told You enthralled me and I even pre-ordered her next novel, Little Fires Everywhere that’s coming out this September. I cannot wait to read it.

8. Newest fictional crush:
I don’t usually fall for fictional characters and it’s kind of embrassing to confess, but Prince (Emperor) Kai from The Lunar Chronicles series stole my heart. While I was reading the series, I even skipped ahead to the end to make absolutely sure that he’s still safe and sound. What does this say about me? I don’t know…

9. Newest favorite character: 

● Werner from All the Light We Cannot See
● Death from The Book Thief
● Olivia from Wonder
● Nina from Six of Crows

10. Book that made you cry:

21570571

Little known fact about me – I cry A LOT.  I cry over books, movies… I seem to be really impressionable and I tend to cry over whatever I find moving/touching/sad. There are actually a lot of books that made me cry this year, but Will You Remember Me? by Amanda Prowse definitely takes the cake; it left me in a sobbing mess and I kept crying over an hour even after closing the book. I’m not even joking.

11. Book that made you happy:

7824322

If you look at the books that I have read so far, you’ll find there aren’t many that will make you happy. But I would pick Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys.
It’s a World War Ⅱ novel and you wouldn’t think it’s a type of book that makes you feel happy, YET the ending is simply brilliant and beautiful. It did make me feel happy.

12. Favorite book to movie adaptation of 2017 you’ve seen:

everything everything

I’ve only watched the trailer (does that count?), but I have high hopes for Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon.  It seems like a pretty truthful reflection of the book!

13. Favorite review you’ve written this year:

The Book Thief.  Writing reviews has always been quite a challenge for me and I need to put a lot of time and effort into writing them, but my favorite one would be The Book Thief.  I don’t think none of my subsequent reviews has exceeded this one…

14. Most beautiful book you bought or received this year:

It’s hard to choose only one book, so these two are what I found most beautiful.

15. Books you need to read by the end of this year:

Hard to choose, because I have so many!! But I would say the Classic books that I bought last April…

 

I tag…

Books Teacup and Reviews
Always Trust In Books
Carissa Reads It All
Maxxesbooktopia
Book Reviews by Shalini
Confessions of a Readaholic

If you don’t do tags or have done this tag already, please feel free to skip it and don’t feel obliged to do this twice!
If any of you are interested in doing this tag, consider yourself being tagged and go right ahead!

Thank you so much for reading as always and I’ll see you guys again soon! 😀

19 thoughts on “Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

    1. No worries! Take as long as you need, you should definitely focus on what you’re passionate about. Writing a novel sounds really impressive! I love reading so much but I have no creativity whatsoever, I don’t think I could ever come up with a story. I’m jealous!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Kristin! I’m glad to know that those are your favorite books too. And as for the cover, I do a lot of cover-buy and that’s the main factor why I own this book now lol

      Like

    1. Thanks! Sharing our thoughts on books and influencing each other (I think influenced by you is much more probable though) is one of the best things about blogging, isn’t it?

      Liked by 1 person

          1. Haha, I definitely recommend that book. The sequel is due early 2018, but save your money. There might be emergencies or something that will come up. Plus, it will eventually get cheaper so there’s that. I rarely buy a book on release and often wait for a sale.

            Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m still a fledgling bookworm, I feel like I’m a baby in this book community, I definitely need to read MORE starting with Stephen King! (I downloaded The Shining yesterday tho!)

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Really? Is it? I know almost nothing about the synopsis, I haven’t watched the movie, Oooooh, I’m super excited! I love creepy, scary books!

          Like

Leave a Reply

