Blogger Recognition Award

I still can’t believe this is actually happening to  me; I was nominated for this award by Lauren @MyPaperInfinity!
As a non-native and a fledgling book blogger, this award nomination came as a complete surprise to me; little did I imagine such a day would come my way… I’m feeling an overwhelming sense of gratitude right now.

If you haven’t already, please hurry over to check out Lauren’s blog – her blog is jam-packed with amazing contents and great discussions not to mention the design is so pretty; it’s almost soothing to visit her blog.
Thank you so much for the tag, Lauren. I can’t thank you enough!

The Rules

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  • Select 10 other bloggers you want to give this award to.
  • Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide the link to the post you created.

How I Started This Blog

It was three years ago that I launched my very first blog here at WordPress. I think it was the summer of 2014 or around that time.
Writing something in English has always been a delight for me and I wanted to hone my writing skills even more by making posts on a regular basis.

However, with very little drama in my life, combined with me being a person of NO CREATIVITY, it didn’t take long for me to run out of topics to blog about. I didn’t have a specific vision nor did I know to what direction I should take my blog. Stumped, I stopped blogging altogether and let it lie dormant for about two years. It never crossed my mind to revamp and relaunch my blog during that time.

Until, I got bitten by a bookworm bug last summer. 

As I read books back to back, I started to be itching to gush and share my thoughts on books with like-minded people. Although I had already had a bunch of online friends (they are all Japanese) with whom I could chat about books, I wanted something MORE – it wasn’t like I was being ambitious and aspired to leave my mark, but I just wanted to write something and express my thoughts in English once again.

So I decided to launch this book blog on August 25th, 2016. It was in fact a decision that I made totally on a whim. It wasn’t like I thought long and hard about it, I decided to create my book blog first thing in the morning and then I published my very first post that afternoon. I just started it.

And here I am – still keep blogging after 9 months since its launch.
That’s how this fledgling book blog came into being 🙂

My Advice

I still consider myself as a newbie in this blogging community; there are still tons of things I don’t know about blogging or making reviews.
That said, if I were to offer two pieces of advice, I would say:

  1. Do your homework and have a specific vision for your blog: I think this sounds like a cliche, but this is what I learned from my own experience. Like I briefly mentioned earlier, if you don’t know what you’re doing or where you’re heading, your blog will end up disoriented with your thoughts running off in all directions.
    I’m actually speaking for myself here – there are tons of things that I need to learn. So, I make it a point of setting aside larger chunks of time to take a look at other bloggers’s posts to take in their blog styles and designs. That will definitely help.
  2. Just dive in, do the thing – and interact!: writing itself is a solitary act, but blogging is actually a social act. So the larger the audience the better, not to mention, it’s so much fun to interact with other bloggers! When I started out with this blog, I didn’t even know how to use tags to draw an audience. I just wrote up posts, published them and that was it; I had hardly anyone to give me likes or comments. I knew many of my Japanese bookish friends had been reading my posts, but I didn’t try to engage in a conversation with them back then. In retrospect, I now see it as a huge mistake. If you don’t open up and try to have conversations with other bloggers or your followers, your blogging will end up a solitary act. Once you have a solid idea for your blog, just dive in. This community is so welcoming and so kind, they even support a blogger like me; someone who’s still struggling with language issues. But I can at least say this; I am so glad that I started this blog. I’ve now made friends with a lot of wonderful, super-experienced bloggers here on WordPress and I’m enjoying every single interaction that I have with them; it definitely enriches my life and I’m so happy about that.
    So please, don’t hesitate. Just dive in. You’ll be amazed by how simple a thing can change your world.

I Tag…

I nominate these bloggers for this award. They are all experienced and amazing bloggers!

If you’ve already done this or you don’t like doing tags, please don’t feel obligated to do it!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you all again soon! 😀

19 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Hi! Thank you so much for the nomination. I appreciate it. I did receive a nomination about a month ago and posted a response. You can see it here, but I totally appreciate you mentioning me:

    https://thisismytruthnow.com/2017/05/15/tag-blogger-recognition-award/

    I will check out my fellow nominees’ sites, too. Thanks again!

    As for your responses, what a great story and advice. Love reading how you started and came back. Great read today, I enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome and I should have known that already, silly me! XD
      I’ll definitely go check your answers, too!
      Thanks so much for your kind words, I mean everything I said in the post. I really appreciate your comments and responses! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on getting nominated for this award! 🎉
    Thanks for nominating and tagging me!
    I loved reading about your blog start up. 😀 and I really agree with you on the whole ‘just do it’ advice. If you want to do something, you should totally just go for it. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! I actually wondered if you had already done this, but I tagged you anyway. You absolutely deserve this award 🙂
      Can’t wait to hear your blog start-up story!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Lauren! I’m so glad that you enjoyed reading this 🙂
      As you mentioned, the most fascinating thing about this tag/award is we get to know other bloggers’ blogging journey and experience or even setbacks! Everyone has their own story to tell and they are all wonderful and beautiful in their own way.
      Thank you so much for the nomination, Lauren and giving me this great opportunity to tell my story 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello! Thank you so much for dropping by/liking & following my blog! Honestly, it’s quite humbling and I still can’t believe this… I’m still technically a newbie; I’ve been blogging for about 10 months now but it’s just recently (maybe a month or so) that I started feeling this blog expanding.
      I really appreciate your comments and willingness to interact with me 🙂 Thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Norin, congratulations on your nomination! And thanks for nominating me! You nailed this post and I can totally relate to this. I was like, “wait, that happened to me too!” Why, I’ve had a blog about my random thoughts too about four years ago until I ran out of topics to keep it going. Then came my love for books…😀 I’m still new to book blogging too and I’m definitely going for your advice. Thanks again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww, thank you so much, Aweng!! I always enjoy reading your posts… your posts and your writing are simply amazing and stunningly beautiful! But wait, if it made you still a newbie in the book blogging community, what would it make me???!! Nooo.
      Once again, I always enjoy reading your blogs. Thank YOU for the inspiration!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks, you’re so kind. I didn’t even thought I was going to have any followers when I started this blog last year but yey, I’m glad to know that I’m inspiring someone. And hey, I’ve read your posts. They’re pretty amazing too!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

