#WeekendReads : June 2nd, 2017

Can’t believe it’s already Friday here in Japan – This week just flew by!
Which means it’s time for another weekly updates; let me share with you the books I’ll be reading over the weekend.

  • The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  • All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
  • Killer Cupcakes by Leighann Dobbs

As I mentioned in my previous post, I started reading The Handmaid’s Tale as part of my very first Readathon challenges and I’m on page 60 now.  I’m not far into the book, I’ve only just started, BUT I find Atwood’s writing very distinct, possessing a very unique rhythm with all the short sentences and punctuation or things like that. I don’t know how quickly I can get through this book, but I’m pumped to see how the story unfolds.

Along with The Handmaid’s Tale, I’m currently reading All the Bright Places. I finally picked up this book; this book, particularly this cover had always spoken to me but it took me a while to actually sit down and start reading. I’m currently on page 43 and liking it so far; the story kicks off in a pretty brisk, nice way and I like the two main characters struggling with their own issues. I can’t wait to see if this book will live up to the hype 🙂

Lastly – this was totally unexpected – but I picked up a cozy mystery, Killer Cupcakes. I was bored to death at the doctor’s waiting room, I just needed something to kill my time, something short and light to blast through. I’ve read this book before so I knew the plot, but I figured it might be nice to reread it so that I’d get to post my thoughts on this blog. This is a very quick read with a decent writing. I read 24% (or somewhere in the neighborhood) in just 15 minutes. Hopefully I can finish this book during this weekend.

 

All right, these are the books I’m working on right now. I’ll definitely keep you posted on my progress in my upcoming posts.
Thank you for reading and hope you have a wonderful weekend! 😀

7 thoughts on “#WeekendReads : June 2nd, 2017

    1. Yes, I’m 62% in the book now and… Hmmm, it’s hard to say. I think it’s entertaining enough, but it kind of rubs me in the wrong way at times, like, it feels a bit too cheesy and way to predictable to me. And gosh, the insta-love… I couldn’t help but laugh out loud.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Funny thing is that, I did it find it predictable but didn’t find THIS cheesy the last time.
          Are other series of hers better than this? What do you think?

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

