#Reading Challenge: Emojiathon

So, we’ve finally hit the halfway mark of the year – it’s June already!
Although I’m not generally a TBR kind of reader, but I’ve always been interested in such reading challenges. Inspired by JessicaMarie493 post, I’ve decided to give Emojiathon a try this June 🙂

Emojiathon is created and hosted by  Dylanthereader5, Naya and Sarah and it goes on until the end of the month. You can take a look at the whole list of challenges for this Emojiathon here.

Here are the challenges that I picked up for my June Emojiathon:

HeartRead a romance or contemporary

For this challenge, I picked up My Sweet Revenge by Jane Fallon. To be honest, I personally think this challenge could also be applied to Luck, Love & Lemon Pie by Amy E. Reichert, which seems to be about a crumbling marriage, I’m going to go for My Sweet Revenge on this one.

smile  Read a book you bought because of it’s cover

This is where Luck, Love & Lemon Pie comes into play. I got this book last November solely for this pretty, tantalizing cover but this has been sitting on my shelf since then. I decided to take this opportunity to actually pick it up and read it.

freebie Freebie! Read any book

For this challenge, I picked up Paige’s Turn by Jennifer Peel. It seems to have gleaned pretty high reviews PLUS the cover looks gorgeous and summery. A reviewer on Goodreads says this book often pops up as a Kindle freebie, but it’s not necessarily the case that a freebie on Amazon.com is also a freebie on Japan Amazon, so I got lucky and I snatched it right up!

horror Read a thriller or horror

I picked up The Nightwalker by Sebastian Fitzek for this one. The plot of a young man who suffers from insomnia turning violent during his nocturnal excursions sounds so intriguing. This is also a book that has been sleeping on my shelf for quite some time, so I see this Emojiathon as an opportunity to pick this up this time around.

eyes  Read a book you’ve been seeing everywhere

For this challenge, I picked up The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. Ever since the adaptation became available on Hulu, I have seen this title almost everywhere; on Twitter, On Google and not to mention in this book community.
I know I’m rather late to this The Handmaid’s Tale party, but hey, better late than never, right?

baby  Read a 2016/2017 release

This Emojiathon came at the perfect time – I downloaded When Dimple Met Rishi just yesterday! This book had been on my radar since late March or sometime and I really, really wanted to read this. I really love the cover by the way 🙂

News Read a book about a current event

If I managed to get all the other challengers out of the way, I’m going to read The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas.
Now, I’ve had this book on my shelf for 3 months, this book was actually my most anticipated release in 2017 and I even pre-ordered it at the end of last year, but I haven’t gotten around to reading it; something akin to intimidation made me have cold feet and push it down to the bottom on my TBR.
In order to right this situation, I’ve decided to include this book in my Emojiathon challenge. We’ll see how it goes!

There you have it; these are my challenges for my very first Emojiathon. I don’t know how many challenges that I’ll get to tick off, but I’m super excited!

Let me show you how determined and pumped up I am for this Readathon;

File_000 (25)

See? I actually took all the physical books for this Readathon out of my bookshelf and plopped them up on my couch 🙂

Being a mood reader, I tend to flip-flop my mind and pick my next read randomly despite having made a TBR. So as not to repeat the same mistake, I decided to make the pile visible as a reminder; This pile will stay on my couch throughout this readathon.
Also, I can easily keep track of my progress this way 🙂

Participating in this readathon definitely motivated me to read some books that I probably wouldn’t pick up otherwise. This will hold me accountable and I’m glad that I decided to tackle these challenges for that.

Are you participating in this Emojiathon? If so, what are your picks for these challenges?
Definitely let me know in the comments and I’ll talk to you again soon! XD

4 thoughts on “#Reading Challenge: Emojiathon

  1. I’m so glad that you’re participating too! To avoid any potential gaffes, I’d like to ask you whether Norin is your real name or whether it’s just a username. 🙂

    I read The Handmaid’s Tale and at first I gave it one star, but that was because I was sisxteen or so and very immature, and the things that were happening in that novel made me so angry and appalled that I just loathed every second of it. I had to read it for a class, so I had no choice. But then I thought about it and realized it was more of a three star read for me. After all, I was hooked the moment I started reading it and couldn’t put it down (despite the fact that it was making me thoroughly miserable). I would never say I love this book, but I can see its value. Parts of it felt very impersonal to me, though, and I think that I would have liked it better if it was written in a different style. Atwood’s writing is just not for me, it feels very academic and clinical, and I can’t help but feel a little detached from it. I have read one other Atwood book (The Penelopiad) and felt the same. Also, the ending… I can’t wait to discuss the ending with you when you finish it! 🙂

    I will be posting my Emoji-a-thon TBR shortly 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Silvia! I’m glad you’ll be participating in the Emojiathon, too! Can’t wait to see your TBR!
      As for my user name, this is sort of like a nickname; my real name is Noriko hence ‘Norin.’ See?
      This is actually how my real-friends call me and I kind of like it.
      I’m currently 10% in The Handmaid’s Tale now. I found Atwood’s writing style is very distinct. She uses a lot of short sentences and punctuation that adds a very unique rhythm to it, I think. I also sense that her writing is VERY EXPLICIT. I might be off the mark given what little progress I’ve made in the book, but that’s how I feel about this book so far.

      Sharing my thoughts and discussing the book sounds so cool! Now, that’s what I really like about this book community… not a single friend of mine in real life is as big a bookworm as I am!

      Like

  2. The Hate U Give is such a good read! I hope you enjoy it!
    I also can’t wait for my copy of When Dimple Met Rishi to come in!
    It looks like such a cute book, and I can’t wait to read it!
    Also, I’m really glad that you decided to participate in this readathon! I hope you have fun with it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Jessica for the inspiration! I wouldn’t have known about it had it not been for your post! I’m really enjoying it now, hopefully I can complete all the challenges!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

