#WeekendReads: May 26th, 2017

Hello, everybody! I hope you’re all having a great reading week.
It’s time for another #Weekend Reads post and I’m going to share with you the books I’ll be reading this weekend.

If you’ve been following me on Goodreads, you might know that I had been reading Cloudstreet: A Novel ( Tim Winton) and just picked up Tenth of December: Stories (George Saunders) yesterday. I thought I had been enjoying both of them, but yesterday, something just snapped;  my brain just stopped functioning.

I guess I can put it down to me having been busy in the last couple of weeks; I put in many hours of overtime, I often found myself dozing off with a book in my hands.
In addition to the looming due date of our financial statement, there have also been a lot of things/demands that I needed to handle, they might have just mentally drained me.

Then I crashed. 

I was like, ‘OMG, nothing comes into me, I can’t, I just can’t process these books.’

To be honest with you, Cloudstreet had been a tough read for me. Like I said, I had been enjoying it, the story of two dysfunctional families seemed and was actually interesting to read.
However, the biggest issue that I had was ‘diction/dialect’ in the book.
I’m not sure if that was because of Tim Winton being an Australian author or the lack of my English skills (duh), but it had been an awfully slow read. I could only read 20 pages per hour at best.

My brain fatigue might have come to a head at that point; I just wanted to read something I could process without using any brain power. I was by no means in the mood for another tough novel.

So I put those book back in my bookshelf and picked up All the Light We Cannot See: A Novel by Anthony Doerr. I needed something emotionally gripping and compelling enough to get me completely hooked.

File_000 (24)

And it turned out right!
I was swept up in the emotions right off the bat and I’ve already read about a hundred pages. I’m absolutely loving this so far! I just don’t want to stop reading.

What I’m particularly enjoying to get through is the bond between Papa and Marie. Ah, it’s sooooo beautiful. It’s just hitting all the right notes for me. I JUST ADORE THEM!

Surprisingly, this book turned out to be such a page-turner and a quick read (compared to Cloudstreet :p).  I don’t have any socializing coming up this weekend, so I hope I can make headway in this book.

Another book I’m currently reading (technically, I’ve just started reading this morning) is Wonder by R.J. Palacio.

Wonder

Again, I just needed some quick, emotional reads in which I can immerse myself AND I must admit the retweet from my friend tempted me to pick up this one. It put me in the mood for a nice middle grade read.

This is actually a reread for me; I read this book in the summer of 2014 or sometime and I remember enjoying it so much. I was reading this on the airplane sandwiched by two men in business suits, and then there came the most emotional scene at the end of the book where August performs in a school play or something or it could be a commencement ceremony? (I no longer quite remember.)  Anyways, the entire time that I was reading that sequence, I kept telling myself, ‘don’t cry, don’t cry! I can’t let them see me crying over a book!’  I didn’t expect the book to be so emotional and moving; it was so hard to keep myself from shedding tears and sniffing lol

I was pretty positive that I’d enjoy this reread as much as I did the last time. I knew I would blast through this one, so this one made the list. I’m 10% into the book right now and am quite enjoying it 🙂

If I get to finish either of these two books, I think I’ll pick up Five Go Glamping: An adventure in the countryside for grown ups by Liz Tipping that I just got from Amazon.jp yesterday.

Five go Glamping

Doesn’t the cover look cute? I found this book on my trusty Bookbub feed and I immediately snatched it. There’s a lot of reviews that say this is not your typical Glamping story, it’s more like a romance story, but why not?  It’s such a slim novel with around 176 page count, and I am in the mood for a Summery read right now.
I NEED SOMETHING LIGHT AND FLUFFY for a change!

That’s it, guys. Those are the books that I’m currently reading and plan to read this weekend. Hopefully, I can finish at least two of them, but we’ll see 🙂

What are you reading right now?
Let me know in the comments and I’ll talk to you guys again soon.
Happy reading! XD

2 thoughts on “#WeekendReads: May 26th, 2017

Leave a Reply

