#WeekendReads: May 13th, 2017

books

Hi, guys! How is your weekend so far?
As for me, I’m currently reading these two books: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak and The Quaker Cafe by Brenda Bevan Remmes.

I picked up The Quaker Cafe about a week ago and had been reading it until I picked up 1984 by George Orwell on a whim.
Well, I probably shouldn’t have – I got completely distracted and ended up leaving this one unfinished for almost a week!
I put it down to initially reading this on my Kindle, too. As you can tell from my Bookish Facts About Me or Rapid Fire Book Tag post, I have not been a big E-book reader for quite some time and tend to be gravitated toward physical books. True to form, the physical copy of The Quaker Cafe has just arrived today and I am really liking it! The feels and the story come into me much more deeply than those of the Kindle book did, I’m now convinced that I am officially a non-Kindle reader; I don’t know whether to be glad or not, though.

While I was waiting for the physical copy of The Quaker Cafe to arrive, I didn’t have any particular book on my list after 1984. The book left a big impact on me and I wasn’t in the mood for diving into another Classic, Lolita, which was on my May TBR.  I knew neither Cloudstreet would work.
After a long and hard contemplation, I finally decided to pick up The Book Thief which has been gleaning good reviews in the Book Community.
I’ve just begun to read and haven’t figured out what this book is all about; this book hasn’t struck a chord with me yet. That said, I’m only 84 pages in the book right now, it’s a bit too early to pass judgement on this book. I hope the story picks up and that this book lives up to the hype!

What are the books that you’re currently reading?

Thanks for reading, guys and hope you all have a fabulous weekend! 😀

2 thoughts on “#WeekendReads: May 13th, 2017

  1. The Quaker Café sounds interesting, I’m going to have to check it out on Goodreads. As for The Book Thief, it is one of the most beautiful (and heartbreaking) books I have ever read. Hope it won’t disappoint you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m only 20 pages in The Quaker Cafe, but I am liking it so far! As for The Book Thief, I’ve heard that it’s heartbreaking, too. I have big hopes for it1

      Like

Leave a Reply

