May TBR

Although we’re well into May already and I’m kind of late to the party, I would love to share with you guys the books that are on my May TBR.

Being a 100% mood reader, I’m prone to mood swings and my reading taste can easily change. So, this TBR thing doesn’t work for me most of the time, but I have two books that I definitely want to read in the month of May.

lolita

The first on my list is ‘Lolita’ by  Vladimir Nabokov.

If you have been following my blog (thanks so much!), you might figure out why I picked up this book; this is one of my Goodreads group-read picks for May.  There are actually some other books on the group-read list, such as ‘Moby-Dick’ by Herman Melville, but I read somewhere that the opinions are polarized – some absolutely adore the book and some just denounce it.

Given the fact that I’m still absolutely naive and new to Classics, I decided to go for Lolita and see how I’d be getting along.

As of today, which is May 8th, I’m still slowly plugging through George Orwell, 1984 and it will most likely to take at least another couple of days to complete, but I am super pumped to bury my nose in this!

 

cloudstreetNext on my list is Cloudstreet by Tim Winton.

Again,  this book hadn’t even been on my radar. I hadn’t even heard of him.
But earlier last month or late March, I got an E-mail message sent by BBC World Book Club saying that they’ll be inviting the author Tim Winton and discussing his bestselling novel, ‘Cloudstreet.’
(How did I end up getting messages from them without having to subscribe their newsletter, you ask? That’s a story for some other time.)

Intrigued, I decided to give this book a try and bought it from Amazon. Since they didn’t have any stock at that time, I had to wait for about two to three weeks until the book arrived at my doorstep.

If you have read this book already, please let me hear your thoughts on this.
I love reading book recommendations!

All right, guys, those are the books on my DEFINITELY-NEED-TO-READ-IN MAY list.
As for the rest, I’ll just read whatever floats my boat and see how it goes!

Thanks for reading as always and I’ll talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

