#FridayReads

Hello, everybody!
I have never made posts under this tag, but I am thinking of adding a new structure to my book blog.
Although I am not quite sure how long I can commit myself to doing this, I am now thinking of casually blogging about my reading progress and what I will be reading over upcoming weekends.

Without further ado, let’s jump right in!

I am currently reading No Time for Goodbye by Linwood Barclay.

2880683This is the thriller that had been sitting on my shelf for the longest time; My friend gave this to me last November or sometime and I had put off reading it for some reason.
Now, I finally got my hands on it and will probably finish reading this tonight (hopefully.)

I will definitely post my thoughts on this once I finish this book, but this is such a page-turner. It doesn’t send chills down my spine YET, but the plot is well-crafted and it’s got some heart-warming moments that put a smile on my face.
I’m liking it so far!
I’ve got another 50 pages to go and can’t wait to read how the story plays out in the end.

 

As for the weekend read, I am thinking of picking up Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote.

8285324Big confession time – I have never read this nor have I watched the movie adaptation. Never. Believe it or not, I am not particularly on Audrey Hepburn camp; I’ve only watched ‘Roman Holiday’ for my English class a long time ago – I’m not even joking. I’m dead-serious.
To be honest, I am not a massive fan of movies; it’s not like I have watched loads of movies let alone classics movies.

So, as always, I know absolutely nothing about how the story unfolds. I don’t even know the synopsis.
However, this is such a slim novel and this particular edition (Penguin Essentials) caught my eye. It’s so pretty and my friend literally ate this book up and raved about this book so vehemently. I am kind of curious how I’m going to feel about this 🙂

As far as the number of books goes, I am slightly disappointed with myself. I have only read 5 books so far and I can only hope that I’ll get to squeeze one more book over this weekend which makes it my 7th books this month.
Given the fact that I have read 8 books a month on average in the last three month, I am not particularly happy about this.

That being said though, I also know that it’s only natural that I didn’t get to read as many books as usual because most of them were Classics or Modern Classics which I am quite new with.
The writing style is obviously different from Contemporary novels or YA books, and I actually did a lot of reread; I even went back to the beginning after reading half of the book and started over from there more than once. No wonder the number of books significantly dropped. I think I can give myself a pat on the back on being able to finish them.

Anyways, that’s about it. Here are the books I’ve been reading and am going to read over the weekend.
Two books doesn’t sound many, but I am basically a one-book-at-a-time reader and I think I’ll go back to the principle for now.

How about you?
I hope you have a wonderful weekend wherever you are.
Thanks for reading and happy reading!

 

Leave a Reply

