Out-of-Control Book Haul

I went on a book-buying frenzy the other day.

Well, it’s technically a couple of weeks ago when I bought them, but as I bought all of them from Book Depository, it was just last week that I got a package from them.

Now, take a look at how big the package is;

big package

This is undeniably the biggest package that I have ever received from them, but it’s a small wonder- I bought as many as 18 BOOKS in one go; all Classic books including some Modern Classics.

Since there are so many, I haven’t gotten around to taking photos of them to share with you guys, but let me just put the pic that I took and posted on Instagram last night to celebrate World Penguin Day.

18055765_1026337077498291_5784138626371715098_o

Needless to say, this pic doesn’t cover everything so I’ll put the titles instead to walk you through all the titles I got from this out-of-control book haul.

  • To Kill a Mockingbird By Harper Lee (Vintage Classics Edition)
  • On the Beach by Nevil Shute 
  • Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
  • Persuasion by Jane Austen 
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen 
  • Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen 
  • Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
  • North and South by Elizabeth Cleghorn Gaskell 
  • The Portrait of a Lady by Henry James 
  • Howards End by E.M. Forster 
  • Two on a Tower by Thomas Hardy
  • Villette by Charlotte Bronte
  • Tess of the d’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy
  • The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins
  • Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov
  • The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
  • Lord of the Flies by William Golding

I didn’t even realize that I actually did, but no sooner had I opened the package than I realized that I had ordered two copies of Catch-22 (Silly me!)so I tweeted if any of my friends would be interested to read it and then one of my Twitter friend said she would, so I decided to send it to her by the time she comes back to Japan at the end of July. Yikes lol

Although Lolita was not initially included in the list, I found it’s going to be one of the May group reads for a Goodreads Book club that I belong to, I decided to add it to my list. I have never read Lolita before and I am super excited to read it along with my book club members 🙂

Upon buying so many books in one go, I had decided to rein in book buying for the next few months; I’ve obviously bitten off more than I can chew, there are way too many books to read.
However, I flip-flopped my mind already- reading Nevil Shute On the Beach made me his fangirl and I wanted to read more of him. So, I ended up buying Most Secret which I could expect to get in the next few days along with The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood which I haven’t read yet but has been all over the Book community.

I will definitely give you guys an update once I receive them!

Thanks for reading guys and I hope you have a wonderful reading week!

Leave a Reply

