Crazy Classic Book Haul! – Part 1

Heavily influenced by BookTubers’ videos, such as Mementomori and lucythereader, I found myself going on a big Classic book haul…

Honestly, I’ve lost count exactly how many books I got in the last couple of weeks, but I thought I’d share some of them with you guys, so here we go 🙂

File_000 (20)

From top left to bottom right:

  • As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner
  • Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
  • Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  • Dune by Frank Herbert
  • No Country for Old Men by Cormac McCarthy
  • Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
  • A Room With a View by E.M. Foster

Now, let me tell you – I have never been a Classics type of reader. I hardly read any Classics or Modern Classics in my entire life.
I have watched the movie adaptations of ‘A Room With a View’ and ‘Clockwork Orange,’ but I have never read the books.
As for William Faulkner and Cormac McCarthy, I haven’t even heard of them before… where have I been??! That sounds crazy. I’m even ashamed of myself 😄

However, the BookTubers’ videos that I talked about earlier made me kind of intrigued to branch out my reading taste into the realm of Classics (including Modern Classics). So, in a bid to right this embarrassing situation, I decided to go on a big Classic spree and bought them. I know almost NOTHING about their synopsis though…

I’ve only read Fahrenheit 451 and am still muddling through Crime and Punishment, but I am so excited to read them all. Particularly, I am so pumped to read A Clockwork Orange. The movie left such a big impact on me, giving me a sort of distorted, disorienting feelings, I am really curious to see if the book has the same vibe to it.

Next we have Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë and Jane Eyre by  Charlotte Brontë.
Yes, the Brontës.

Brontes

Again, I have never read any of their books even the translated versions, but I am all up for giving them a try because I’ve heard a lot of good things about them!

In my Reading Habits Tag post, I told you that I now can handle maximum two books at once, but speaking from my meager experience with reading Crime and Punishment (you guys surely know how beefy the book is),  I think such tomes should be given my undivided attention. Otherwise, I’d completely forget how the story and dialogues between characters go.

Anyways, this is the part 1 of my crazy Classic book haul!
I’m still expecting the other half of the books to arrive and it’s most likely to take another week or so, I’ll wrap this up here.
I’ll definitely give you an update once my books have arrived!

If you have any recommendations on what Classic books I should try, definitely let me know!
Thanks for reading and I’ll talk to you guys again soon! 😀

5 thoughts on “Crazy Classic Book Haul! – Part 1

  1. What type of books do you generally read. I ask because I usually urge newcomers to Classics to start with a genre or a theme that you like. For example if you like gentry and couples going towards marriage try Jane Austen. If you into reading about people surrounded by poverty trying break out try Charles Dickens. If you like children stories whether staying young or growing up try Winnie the Pooh/Anne of Green Gables. Etc.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your input! Well, to be perfectly honest, I’m not even sure what kind of genre I normally go to. But I have read Jane Austen, ‘Pride and Prejudice’ and enjoyed it so much.
      Come to think of it, I do love both themes that you’ve just mentioned, and I quite enjoyed Crime and Punishment, reading about people surrounded by poverty. I might as well give Charles Dickens a try!

      Like

      1. If you have not read Dickens go with one of his lighter reads first. Do a quick internet search. I am crazy about his writing but his sentence structures and character type drive some persons crazy. All the best and enjoy!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

