The Reading Habits Tag

Books and Tea

Although I have never done a tag nor have I never been tagged before, I thought it would be a lot of fun to do this tag so I decided to give it a go.
Without further ado, here we go 🙂

Questions:

1.  Do you have a certain place at home for reading? 
Yes, I do. I predominantly read on my couch and that’s actually the only place that I have for reading. I sometimes read in bed using Kindle, but reading in bed always, without fail, results in me drifting off to sleep without making much progress.

2.  Bookmark or random piece of paper?
Bookmarks any day. I always make sure that I have a bookmark whenever I carry my book around with me.

3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/ a certain amount of pages?
Preferably after a chapter or a paragraph, but basically I can stop reading wherever because life tends to get in the way.

4. Do you eat or drink while reading?
At night on weekdays, I drink coffee or cocoa to keep me awake. And I often have snacks like finger foods while reading at weekends (especially in the afternoon).

5. Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?
At home, never. Even instrumental music can be quite a distraction for me. At cafes or restaurants, it is fine unless I have someone around who keeps talking to me or talking loudly. (Basically, I’m a don’t-mess-with-me-while-reading kind of person.)

6. One book at a time or several at once?
I used to be a one-book-at-a-time kind of reader, but ever since I started buddyreading with my Twitter friend, I’ve learned to have multiple books going at once. But I would say I can only handle two books at the most.

7. Reading at home or everywhere?
Basically, everywhere. I always carry my book around and try to squeeze as much reading as I can into my spare time. So I read in hospital waiting rooms, at work, at beauty salons, literally everywhere.

8. Reading out loud or silently in your head?
Silently in my head. But I do read out loud when I feel a bit drowsy because keeping my mouth moving somehow helps to stay awake.

9. Do you read ahead or even skip pages?
Generally speaking, NO. I want the suspense of not knowing anything about the plot, so I don’t read ahead let alone skip pages.
The only exception to this is when I was reading Cress by Marissa Meyer; I was so invested in Thorne’s character thus I just couldn’t resist reading ahead to make sure if he would be OK.
Oh, and I did the same when I was reading ‘Winter’ to make sure Emperor Kai would be safe and sound.
But basically, no. I wouldn’t read ahead.

10. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?
What really irks me is the broken spine; I JUST CAN’T STAND HAVING A STRAIGHT LINE RUNNING IN THE SPINE. Absolutely not. I want my books to be in pristine condition. My default posture when reading is holding the spine firmly with my right hand and (gently) placing my left hand to spread it open so as not to break the spine. Some may say I’m almost paranoid, but I just can’t help it.

11. Do you write in your books?
Again, ABSOLUTELY NOT. I want my books to be as beautiful as new and want them to last.
So, I would definitely avoid anything that could damage my books. If I need to, I would write on post-it notes instead.

 

There you have it – it’s been so much fun answering those questions!
I hope now you got to know me a little bit better as a reader, please let me know if you do this tag so that I can read your answers!

Thanks for reading and I’ll talk to you again soon! 😀

Leave a Reply

