A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

8621462

A Monster Calls: Inspired by an idea from Siobhan Dowd

 

I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars.
Although I started this book with high expectations after reading so many good reviews and high-ratings, this book didn’t move me as much as I had expected.
In retrospect, I might have expected TOO MUCH, the ducked stars might not be the book’s fault, the fault may have lain with me after all; I probably should have started this book with a clean slate rather than let the fixed idea of this book being good cloud my judgment.

The illustrations are amazing and the writing and the story line are generally gripping and relatable, I personally think this is a page-turner. The story moves at a brisk pace.
However, I didn’t get invested in any of the characters except for the Monster; they all felt kind of aloof and it was hard to read their emotions. I think it is too bad that I didn’t get to relate to the main character, Conor, in particular.

I understand that Conor is going through a tough time with his mother being gravely sick, but I couldn’t relate to him for closing himself off and not letting anybody emotionally be close to him. He could confide in his father or his grandmother that how badly he has been tormented by the ‘Truth’ which he keeps to himself. He could lift the load from his shoulders by letting out his feelings, but he kind of refuses to face it. I know the ‘truth’ is awfully hard for a 13 year-old boy to bear, but that’s all the more reason why I wanted him to open up and let the others know his true feelings. I felt rather frustrated with him being so distant, he felt so out of reach.
My frustration disappeared and I even felt some sympathy toward Conor in the end, though.
The irony – the medicine made from yew tree fails to bring the outcome what Conor desperately was hoping for – felt so poignant. That was probably one of the scenes that spoke to me most strongly.

Although I was impressed with what the fourth tale has done to Conor, and I think it is definitely worth a read, personally, I found the message the Monster tries to convey to Conor a bit difficult to grasp. It felt a bit too vague and fuzzy so I almost let it slip.
I still enjoyed reading how the fourth tale helped Conor to be honest with his true feelings though. It is really cathartic and therapeutic.

What I really like about this book is the monster’s voice. He is sage and insightful yet I can also see he has a sense of humor. Some of his remarks made me giggle.
I also enjoyed reading the dialogues between Conor and the monster so much. The monster’s words are all pregnant with meaning, which may be a bit hard for kids to understand, but I think there are a lot that resonate with everyone.

That being said though, I was a bit underwhelmed by the ending; I did want it to grab me, break me, or even shatter me. With regard to the point, this book fell short of measuring up to my ‘probably way too high’ expectations.

I generally enjoyed the book, but it failed to reel me in and make me emotionally attached completely and that’s the only issue that I had toward this book.

This is not a straight 5 stars book for me (I’m so sorry about that), yet I think it’s worth a read and you may find this book really touching and moving.

Leave a Reply

