Kane & Abel by Jeffrey Archer

6999975

Kane and Abel

Although I finished book about a week ago, I had actually intentionally put off writing my personal thoughts on this book. But here I am- I think I’m finally ready to talk about this grand book, ‘Kane & Abel’ by Jeffery Archer.

I honestly don’t know why it took me so long to write a review on this, all I can guess is that I must have been a bit intimidated or felt I was not entitled to say ANYTHING about it.

First thing first, I really enjoyed reading this. The very first sentence got me hooked and it kept me engaged from beginning to end.
The writing is so powerful and masculine and it has got some CLASS and I actually felt somewhat akin to dignity in his diction. I fell in love and was in awe of  the beautiful, magnificent writing.(Come to think of it, it’s been a while since I last I read a book written by a male author.)

Secondly, the plot. This is an excellent, thrilling magnificent read in my opinion. This story follows two men born on the same day in different corners of the world over the span of 60 years. Those two men, William (Kane) and Wladek (Abel), were born and bred in totally different situations – William to a wealthy family and Wladek to the opposite one. It is unimaginable for their paths to ever cross in their lives, but for some fickle trick of fortune, they do and it comes totally unexpectedly. I wouldn’t say I didn’t see it coming AT ALL, but there were actually some surprising twists which I had never expected and I found them quite riveting.

The characters are all so great; particularly, the main characters, William and Abel are just outstanding. They both are undeniably smart as a tack in their own way; reading how they both outstrip adults at the tender age of 16 to 18 or something is just enthralling and exhilarating. Their intelligence and talent are eloquently and amazingly showcased throughout the book and that’s the very reason why I didn’t want them to end up hating each other and striving to outsmart the other and make him taste the bitterness of defeat. I got so invested and warmed up to both of them (my favorite will be William), so I honestly AM IN NO WAY happy with the ending. That being said though, I must say the author beautifully wrapped up this grand story. The cast of characters and its dynamics also added a lot of depth to the story and made it even more unputdownable.

To be perfectly honest with you, I was expecting a bit more intense feud between William and Abel. Reading the synopsis on the back cover, I was expecting either of them would find himself in life-or-death quagmire or something, but rest assured, it’s not THAT intense. (It’s still breathtaking though.)

Lastly, the ENDING. The last sentence, literally the last sentence left me stunned.
I was momentarily lost for words. No exaggeration whatsoever – the ending broke me.

I never imagined that I would be reduced to tears in the end; I wasn’t expecting this ending.

How much price would we have to pay if we chose to stick with our misguided preconceptions and assumptions, refusing to open up our eyes or lending an ear to what others have to say?
Would their lives have been any different had they decided to meet halfway? 

I couldn’t help but ask those questions over and over again. It left sad, poignant feelings inside me and I couldn’t help but shed some tears.

This book is simply amazing and exciting to read with twist after twist after twist.
I couldn’t see most of them coming; this book kept me on tenterhooks the entire time.
I think this can be categorized as historical fiction? (I honestly don’t know) and I simply appreciate how meticulously the story is crafted in a historical setting including the events such as Wars and Great Depression. The author must have done some extensive research because it is so realistic and grounded.

Despite its length, this is definitely a kind of book that passes the test of time.
I am so glad that I read it.

2 thoughts on “Kane & Abel by Jeffrey Archer

Leave a Reply

