Chasing Echoes by Jodi Perkins

chasing-echoes

Chasing Echoes

 

I got an e-book in exchange for an honest review last weekend.
It all came as a complete surprise – would I ever have imagined someone would actually hit me up with such an offer! I was momentarily lost for words.
But I was all game for a new challenge and a new reading experience, so I took up the offer.

“Oh, my gosh. Whoa!” was my first response when I closed the book.
I’ve really started sounding like a broken record, but to be honest with you, I was a bit concerned about starting this book for fear of this book not living up to my expectations.
Contrary to my misgivings, this book actually turned out to be a great, fantastic read. I really, seriously enjoyed it. It’s so much better than I expected!!

I don’t even know in what category this book can be pigeonholed, but THIS ‘Chasing Echoes’ is a fantastic, exciting read with a lot of suspenseful, riveting twists.
The opening chapter is simply amazing – it starts off with a high school party scene in a gorgeous hotel banquet hall, it all looks normal, there’s nothing special or bizarre to it, but then, SOMETHING happens there and the author did an amazing job in introducing the main character, Taz and (albeit briefly) what she is capable of. It partially reveals the special powers that Taz has yet not completely, it kind of leaves readers some shadow of doubt. It is so powerful, so descriptive, and exquisitely written. I got sucked in right off the bat and was kept on the edge of my seat the entire time!

The writing is really so solid, on-point, yet amazingly descriptive and strong. I think her writing possesses the power and class to capture readers’ imagination and hold them in thrall. Simply brilliant.

And the plot. THE PLOT. Oh, how amazingly crafted it is!! The setting surrounding Taz and her family felt a bit too far-fetched to me at first, but before I knew it, I got used to it and I actually came to appreciate it.
As if to say that the concept ‘time loop’ wasn’t unique and novel enough, the ‘shrinking time loop’? Oh, man, it doesn’t get any better than that! You have to read it to find what it is like.

There is one part I felt a bit confusing and I felt the pacing was a bit slow until I hit the 38% mark in the book, but the the plot thickens from there and it only gets even more entertaining and riveting. The latter part (from 60% percent of so) is so thrilling, such a page-turner, I just couldn’t put it down. I was totally engrossed in the story.
It is amazing how the author managed to condense a lot of aspects into one story. I particularly found amazing how beautifully and naturally the notion of ‘forgiveness’ and ‘honesty’ blended into one and I really enjoyed reading how Stryder reaches the particular decision to break the curse. It is so well-done.

I simply love all the characters – particularly Taz is amazing. She’s a bit feisty yet very compassionate and kind, not to mention FUNNY. I immediately adored her. I also love the dynamics of the four sisters; it’s very endearing and they are all so funny, impish and adorable! I wanted to see a bit more of them all.
Although it took me a while to get warmed up to Stryder, seeing how he changes albeit gradually is also entertaining and heart-warming. The slow-burned love made my heart go pitter-patter. It is, again, beautifully written. So swoony.

I can’t gush enough about how amazing this book really is; I just can’t believe why this book hasn’t got as many high-reviews as it should deserve.
Although this book ends with somewhat like a cliffhanger and insinuate that there’ll be a sequel, I’m afraid it hasn’t come out yet. I’ll definitely read it once it’s out!

I highly, VEHEMENTLY recommend whoever loves YA fictions picks this up.

Just read. And then you’ll know what I mean 🙂

Leave a Reply

