Prejudice Meets Pride by Rachael Anderson

prejudice

Prejudice Meets Pride (Meet Your Match, book 1) (Volume 1)

■Synopsis (excerpt from Goodreads)

After years of pinching pennies and struggling to get through art school, Emma Makie’s hard work finally pays off with the offer of a dream job. But when tragedy strikes, she has no choice but to make a cross-country move to Colorado Springs to take temporary custody of her two nieces. She has no money, no job prospects, and no idea how to be a mother to two little girls, but she isn’t about to let that stop her. Nor is she about to accept the help of Kevin Grantham, her handsome neighbor, who seems to think she’s incapable of doing anything on her own.

Prejudice Meets Pride is the story of a guy who thinks he has it all figured out and a girl who isn’t afraid to show him that he doesn’t. It’s about learning what it means to trust, figuring out how to give and to take, and realizing that not everyone gets to pick the person they fall in love with. Sometimes, love picks them.


Well, well, well.
This book surprised me in various ways – with its strong writing as well as the solid story line, it sucked me in right from the start and kept me on the edge of my seat until the end.

To be perfectly honest, I started this book with low expectations because it was one of those books that you get from Amazon for free. I may be a bit biased and quick to brush off those free books, but I’d had my fair share of disappointments from such free offers albeit only temporary, so I couldn’t help but be a bit skeptic about starting this book.

However, as I mentioned, I found this book surprisingly powerful and delightful to read.

The main character, Emma came across a bit frustrating and obnoxious at first, particularly when she keep turning down every single olive branch Kevin has to offer; she stubbornly clings to what little pride she has and I couldn’t figure out why she has to be THAT STUBBORN AND PRIDEFUL. Even with the issue that I had with Emma’s personality, the story development – the chemistry between Emma and Kevin in particular – won over my heart and I really enjoyed the reading experience.This is a cute, swoony read.

I think the title is very fitting to the story; I leave it to you what ‘Prejudice’ and ‘Pride’ represent, but I think it speaks volumes what this story is all about.

I personally find her writing was on-point, beautiful and very descriptive. The descriptions of spark-inducing kiss scenes and Emma’s murals and painting were just amazing and I can easily visualize what they would look like. I wonder if the author actually dabbled in art; she did an amazing job on that.
The dialogues and prose are also vibrant and scintillating. I enjoyed the flirting banter going back and forth between them so much; that was one of the things that reeled me in.

As to the story crafting, I found it interesting that the author employed the game, ‘20 questions’ to narrate Emma and Kevin’s upbringing and past. This scene brought much depth into the story and told me why Emma is the way she is, where her overly strong refusal to be a ‘case of charity’ comes from.  It was the scene where I began to understand Emma’s personality and started warming up to her. I wouldn’t say that I can relate to her (because I still don’t), but I thought this twist effective.

In addition to that, the scene of Kevin being with his mom was also fantastic. It completely flipped the way I see his mother upside-down. Since I wasn’t expecting that turn of event at all, it caught me off guard and I couldn’t help giggling in delight. The ensuing chapters till the end is quite a page turner. I just couldn’t put it down, I was anxious to find out how the story unfolds between Emma and Kevin.

All in all, this is really a sweet, delightful read. The way how Emma and Kevin’s emotional distance closes in on is definitely worth the read – I’m sure it’ll make your heart flutter. I’m positive!

Leave a Reply

