Winter by Marissa Meyer

winter

Winter

I could give this book billions of stars. Five stars could never, ever be enough.
I ADORE THIS BOOK. THIS WOULD REMAIN AS MY ALL-TIME FAVORITE, I’M CERTAIN OF IT.

Despite its volume, which is over 800 pages, this book never bored me. I never had a dull moment.

So many things happen, so many dramas take place, it’s literally like a whirlwind. Everything flashes so fast, yet leaves an incredibly big impact on me.
And let’s not forget about the romance between the characters; each romance felt so adorable, and MADE MY HEART SWOON. I can’t get enough of this. I love it soooo much.

The story-crafting is just as amazing as the rest of the series, but I think Marissa Meyer’s writing gets only better each book.
Just like ‘Cress,’ they are the scenes where the characters of Cinder’s gang split up and go their separate ways to fulfill the missions assigned to them and a lot of things happen along the way. Each of them are driven into a corner, give or take,  but their paths do cross in the latter of the book. The way each side story between the characters beautifully entwines is just enthralling and captivating. I must say that my most favorite would be the story between Cinder and Kai, yet I admit that the book held me in thrall the entire time.

Although I have never touched on the aspect of this series being a Sci-Fi retelling of fairy tales and each book based off of fairy tale characters, I think I must mention this is a great retelling of ‘Snow White.’  Jacin’s dedication to Princess Winter is so sweet and adorable. Particularly the scene where Jacin kneels down and tries to kiss Winter to peace her deranged mind together reminded me of the Prince kissing Snow White; it was a perfect reflection of the original story.

Another thing I want to mention here is how amazing the each speech made by any of the main characters sounds in the book. The story involves royals from both Luna and the Eastern Commonwealth, so it does include a lot of political messages and diplomacy and I assume it’s kind of hard to make those speeches sound realistic and cogent. In that respect, the author did it a spectacular job. The words just resonated with me, tugging at my heartstrings and they evoked my emotions; it gave me all sorts of feels. Sadness, despair, angst, and delight.

I had moments where I gritted my teeth, felt my skin crawl, sighed in despair, squealed both with frustration and delight, and had my eyes welled up – and I adore every single inch of the book.

The character development is also stellar – I got even warmed up to Wolf and Scarlet whom I hadn’t appreciated much in the previous books. In particular, Wolf’s characterization is amazing; his bashfulness and concerns after the re-bio engineering (You’ll know what scene I’m talking about if you have read the book) made me chuckle. It warmed the cockles of my heart. My gosh, how I adore all those characters!!

It hasn’t been even ten minutes since I closed the book, but I’m already missing all the excitement and good times that I had reading this book.

I now realize what the BookTubers were talking about when they said they were not ready for the series to end. I was in no way ready for this…(sobs).

But I appreciate the ending; I am glad that it did end on a positive, hopeful note.
Although it was a teeny bit of a letdown that I didn’t get to see the explicit closure between Kai and Cinder’s romance, namely, a happy ending between those two, it still casts a ray of hope of them being together someday, so I’ll try to be cool with that.

Oh, my God. I want to read the after story, particularly what happens between Kai and Cinder!!
(I know I’m gushing so much about those two, but I can’t help feeling attached to those two. Who wouldn’t?)

I highly recommend this book. This is definitely worth the appellation of ‘the Grand Finale.’

Leave a Reply

