Cress by Marissa Meyer

cress-cover

Cress

Marissa Meyer did it again.
I would definitely say Cress, the third book in The Lunar Chronicles series, is the best of the three. I absolutely adore this book.

As I mentioned in my Scarlet post, I wasn’t a massive fan of Scarlet, the heroin in the previous book, so I didn’t love ‘Scarlet’ as much as I had thought I would.
However, this ‘Cress’ is just like a roller coaster – with a lot of drama and twists going, I never felt bored while I was reading it.

The new character, Cress, is simply adorable and such a sweetheart. She comes across so timid in the beginning which is totally understandable given the fact that she had been trapped in a satellite circling the orbit for the last seven years, but she develops herself into a much stronger and confident girl as the story goes. Her innocent, naive personal traits and her flair in hacking make her attractive and endearing. I am so glad that I can say that I could relate to the main character this time because it didn’t happen in the last book.

The story crafting is just amazing and stellar – an awful lot happen in this book and it makes the book so gripping and riveting. I didn’t want to put it down but I had to put it down. I had to take a moment and take a calming breath to let the story sink in and brace myself for the next twist.
An incident happens in the early stage of the story splits Cinder’s gang and they go their separate ways from the point onward; Cress with Thorne, Cinder with Wolf and a Lunar Guard Jacin, while Scarlet has to fight her way all alone.

I found it interesting to read the multiple story lines go in parallel with each other but don’t get jumble up. All the story lines come together in the end so perfectly concurrently with the reunion of all the members (except for Scarlet). It was just glorious.

I can’t go without talking about the emotional aspect of this series; just like the last two books, this book broke my heart so many times.
In particular, what happens to Thorne came as a jolt; it happens at a relatively early stage of the book and I knew a lot more would be coming, but I couldn’t resist the urge to find out if he was going to be Okay – I went to Google and I ended up reading some spoilers (Duh). That goes to show how I was engrossed in the story. I just couldn’t stand it.
It always hurts when something bad happens to the characters whom I’m so invested in, and in that sense, this book wrecked me more than once. It was so heart-wrenching and I couldn’t help screaming in frustration and angst.
That said, I also have to say it is quite entertaining.

The romance between my two favorite characters, Cinder and Kai, literally made me swoon.
I had to wait for like 460 pages to see them together, but it was definitely worth the wait. The ensuing romantic scene was to die for, at least for me.
I thought things went a bit too smoothly between Cinder and Kai, but the author did an amazing job in getting us readers to snap out of it and focus on the immediate retaliation by the conniving, despicable Queen Lavana.

I wonder what will happen in the last book, ‘Winter’?
I’m totally ready for another epic ride!

2 thoughts on “Cress by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply - Thank you!

