Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

scarlet

Scarlet

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.


First thing first, I enjoyed this book so much. I really liked it.
However, I’m afraid I have to say that it did not move me as strongly as ‘Cinder’ and I think it’s because of the lack of character development of the new heroine, ‘Scarlet.’

Scarlet is sassy and feisty and rather STUBBORN – I do understand her concerns over her missing grandmother and how much her grandmother means to her, but then again, I can’t help being kind of fed up with her stubbornness; she tends to jump the gun and fixated to the wrong idea and adamantly believe she’s right, she has NO intention of listening to others. Her desperation over her grandma kind of clouds her fair judgment and makes her really headlong. And I didn’t like it.
On top of all that, other than her concerns over her grandma, very little of her personality is narrated in this book. I couldn’t see her inner struggles and her emotional process and that made me hard for me to relate to Scarlet completely like I did to Cinder in the last book.

Speaking of the characters, I adore the new character, Thorne so much. He is funny and a bit cocksure but not arrogant at all. He has some quality that makes him endearing to me. I liked him being a bit slow to connect all the clues and hints that suggest Cinder is Princess Selene. (Spoiler!)

While I adore Thorne a lot, I wasn’t particularly attracted by another new character, Wolf. In particular, the whole genetic transformation thing? It baffled me and I felt a bit thrown off. I know it’s all plausible that such crazy mutant-like characters do exist in such a crazy world-setting of Luna, but yet… it made me a bit cringe.

The plot and story line is as gorgeous and spectacular as Cinder; it’s action-packed and I was amazed by Marissa Meyer’s on-point writing. It just kept the momentum going and kept me on tenterhooks. I was really excited to see how two story lines between Scarlet and Cinder finally entwine later in the book. The marge of those two story lines is just beautiful and enthralling, even.
It was also good that we get to know Emperor Kai’s inner turmoil and how he feels about Cinder a lot more in this book. I know Prince (Emperor) Kai had some feelings for Cinder, but his true emotions were not narrated much in the last book. For that reason, I was so excited to read how he actually feels toward Cinder. It was so heart-wrenching, yet so sweet.

That aspect makes the decision Emperor Kai reaches in the end even more poignant and gut-wrenching –oh, that broke my heart yet again!
I was inwardly screaming, “No, you’re not thinking straight! You can’t do this, please, just re-think!!”
I just don’t want to see that happen, no, no. absolutely NOT. (and I believe I’m not the only one saying this, right?)

Although I enjoyed Scarlet and Wolf’s side of the story a lot, but I must say I enjoyed Cinder and Emperor Kai’s side of the story a lot MORE. I was actually looking forward to reading their side of the story rather than reading Scarlet and Wolf’s one. I’m afraid that speaks volumes that I didn’t think much of the new characters.

It seems that some reviewers say the insta-love between Scarlet and Wolf a bit of a turn-off, but it was actually totally fine with me.
I have to admit it does seem like a bit too fast for their love to blossom, yet in such crazy, frantic situation, such adrenaline-driven love can happen, it’s not far-fetched, I think.

Although I’ve still got a lot more to say about this book, but I’ll refrain myself and leave it to you readers to find out what it is all about!
I really adore this series and can’t wait to dive into Cress!

Leave a Reply

