A Love Struggle That Bookworms Face

Let me say this out loud – I have never felt so torn and indecisive on ‘what to read next?’

As you can see in my November Book Haul, I bought four Christmas-themed books with beautiful festive covers. I’ve got two down as of last night and have three more to go including the one that I bought back in 2014. They are all physical books, not Kindle books.

And now, I’m facing a struggle which I’ve never had as far as reading goes.

I am being hesitant to read the books that I bought!!

Out of the concern that I would be out of books to read if I kept reading at this pace!
How contradictory could I be?? It doesn’t make any sense!

But I am.

I’m debating whether to read the physical ones or e-books on my Kindle.

One part of me wants to read the physical ones I bought this year while another part of me keeps telling me I should save them for next year.

However, what’s the point of saving them for later with new holiday reads coming out every single year when Christmas rolls around?? I know I’ll definitely want to read the new ones this time next year! Who in the world could resist such an onslaught of temptation??

This morning, I sat in front of my brand-new bookcase staring at the array of books that I laid out the other day and wondered if I should pick up another holiday read from the shelf or read an e-book instead.

Or, reading something from a different genre – such as YA contemporary.
I was literally torn among those options and I still haven’t been able to make up my mind.

I think I’m going to re-read my trusty Melody Carlson’s holiday read, ‘Christmas at Harrington’s’ which I enjoyed two years ago,  but my resolution is not as staunch and I may flip-flop my mind at the drop of a hat.

It wouldn’t have been a problem a few years back as I used to be a reader who does a lot of re-read. I used to read the same book once again right after I finish it. It was totally fine with me.
But now, I’ve somehow morphed myself into a reader who can’t resist reading new books back to back. I really love the sense of me drifting in a world that’s completely different from mine – the vicarious experience, if you like.

Reading one book means one less experience or even life that is allotted for me and I HATE the idea XD

Maybe I should just keep reading instead of fretting over such trivial things, but I just can’t help it.

Have any of you felt the same way as I do?
What are the stuggles you have when reading?
I hope I’m not the only one to think this way!

Leave a Reply

