The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (The Chronicles of Narnia (Publication Order) #1)

lion

I gave this book 4.5 out of 5 stars. I really, really adore this book.

I re-read this book for the first time in about 3 years.
I was a bit worried if all my senses and emotions had gone numb after a major book hangover stemming from reading NOS4A2. Although I picked up a different book prior to this one but the book didn’t speak to my heart as much and I began to wonder if there was something wrong with me.

It was when I decided to pick up this book; I remember enjoying it so much the last time and I figured I would be in trouble if I didn’t.

You can’t imagine how glad and relieved I was to say this out loud – I enjoyed this book immensely!

First thing first – the plot; I adore the story line! How fantastic and exciting it is to step into a completely different world and eventually ascend to the throne!  I think this is everybody’s dream come true and I love it!

Being such a short book which has got only 206 pages or so, the story goes pretty fast.
I still can’t believe so many events take place in such a short book.
The writing comes across rather simple (it is also natural considering it’s for children) and some scenes feel overly simplified and concise compared to the movie adaptation, but the power that his writing has held me in thrall throughout the book. I couldn’t put it down.

The dialogues are so vibrant and sound quite natural. In particular, whatever that comes out of Aslan’s mouth does speak to me; his remarks are literally words of wisdom and they naturally come into me.

The Pevensie siblings are all so adorable, but I found a bit difficult to see why Edmund is being so spiteful in the early part of the book. I wish there were some more explanations or descriptions of a rift or two particularly between Peter and Edmund as there was in the movie.

Putting all the metaphors and messages of Christianity this book carries aside (for me not being a Christian), I believe this book does impart some messages that each and every one of us should bear in mind; put others before you, there may be some people who need as much help as you or your loved one needs.
And the messages are conveyed in a masterful, beautiful writing. Just amazing.

This story has got somewhat a warm vibe and hope keeps running through the entire book.
It is a bit sad and poignant when the Pevensie siblings come back to the real life through the magical wardrobe, but I love the Professor’s very last remark before the story ends.

Once a King in Narnia, always a King in Narnia. But don’t go trying to use the same route twice. Indeed, don’t try to get there at all. It’ll happen when you’re not looking for it.

Keep your eyes open.

Ahhh, another word of wisdom… I love the Professor!!

This is a perfect example that showcases a great book doesn’t need to be way too long.
Short and sweet yet full of wisdom. I now desperately want to get the box set so that I can always go back to the Narnia world!

Leave a Reply

