The Reptile Room by Lemony Snicket

The reptile room

Lemony Snicket did it again – this book enthralled me from beginning to end.

This is the second book in the series and I love it so much; I adore this book much more than the first book.

His prowess as an author is beautifully displayed throughout the book. There is never a dull moment in this book at least for me and I literally gobbled it up in two sittings. (I’d been reading two books simultaneously so while I was at the other book, this book was on the back burner if you like.)

I particularly like how Lemony Snicket portrays Count Olaf in this book.
In the first book, Count Olaf was portrayed as a despicable, insidious man who is capable of the most horrendous thing we could think of when he flies into rages.

However, I didn’t particularly feel that way; yes, he is such a despicable, cunning and ugly man but the descriptions of him didn’t give me chills running down my spine in the first book.

In the second book, however, I shivered at the thought of him slashing one of the Bourdelair orphans’ throat with his jagged knife (That’s what he says he will do, not what he actually does.)
The knife – the glint of the knife in particular – was also used amazingly effectively to send warnings to the Boudelair orphans as well as displaying how merciless and inexorable Count Olaf can be if he so chooses.
I thought I could even sense the hushed silence filling the room by the mere sight of the knife, how scary it can be! I shuddered. 

I was also mesmerized by his prowess in story-telling.
We all know something bad and miserable is going to happen to the Bourdelair orphans, but rather than unfolding the story bit by bit like untangling twined threads, he blurts out that their new guardian – whom the children adore and find amiable – is destined to die.
He doesn’t divulge how or when, but he does come out and say things are definitely not going the way we readers hope.

I found it worked fantastically to underscore the forthcoming days of doom and gloom in store for the Bourdelair children.
By juxtaposing the grim future that awaits the children TO the ephemeral happy time that they get to spend with their new guardian, I was in a way reminded that only bad things were going to happen to the children and came to yearn to save them out of the misery as the grim realization dawns on me.

As it was two years since I last read this book, I only remembered the fraction of the story so everything in the book felt fresh and I enjoyed so much.

It was such a delightful, entertaining read. I can’t wait to find out what happens next to the Bourdelair children 🙂

Leave a Reply

