November Book Haul -Part 1

I’ve been buying books like crazy in the last two months.
I used to primarily buy Kindle books because it doesn’t need any physical space to store my books no matter how many I may buy, and of course, for its convenience; I don’t have to haul several books around with me when I’m on the go, it also allows me to fly through one book to another with one fluid swipe on the screen. As a mood reader, I really appreciate the convenience.

However, for some reason, something clicked and then I started to crave physical books; the warm, distinct feeling of a book in my hands and the sound of paper rustling as I flip through pages.
They have now become sustenance for my soul. I don’t think I can ever stop buying physical books, at this point anyway.

I wrote a post on my October Book Haul and told you that I bought seven books in October, but to tell the truth, I bought many more than that.  Some of them didn’t make it by the end of October, so I think I’ll lump them in my November Book Haul and here it is;


Cinder by Marrisa Meyer

cinder

I bought this book having read my Twitter (and Goodreads) friend’s quick review on Goodreads. She seemed to adore the first installment of the ‘Lunar Chronicles’ so much and I decided to give it a try myself.
I don’t usually read Sci-Fi nor Fantasy, but I found the synopsis very interesting thus I decided to give this a go.


NOS4A2 by Joe Hill / Luck, Love & Lemon Pie  by Amy E. Reichert

file_000-4

I ordered these books about a week after I made a first purchase from Book Depository.
Having been mesmerized (sort of) by ‘The Fireman,’ I was bound and determined to read another Joe Hill’s book and my friend’s review on Goodreads came at the right time – Bam!  I placed another order before I knew it along with the book I’d been meaning to read for some time; ‘Luck, Love & Lemon Pie’ by Amy E. Reichert. As I adored her book, ‘The Coincidence of Coconut Cake’ so much, I have high hopes on this book, too. (And look at the cover- that’s a beauty!)


Christmas at Little Beach Street Bakery by Jenny Colgan / Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

file_000-6-small

I knew Holiday season was still a month away – but I just couldn’t resist getting Jenny Colgan’s new Christmas themed book; ‘Christmas at Little Beach Street Bakery.’ This book literally stole my heart when I first laid my eyes on its cover.  Although I have never read any of her books, but I know I’m going to like it. Even if I don’t, I’ll at least get to appreciate its beautiful cover 🙂
As for ‘Dark Matter,’ I’d wanted to get this thriller so bad; it seems to have gotten a lot of positive reviews and my favorite Booktuber raved about it. The premise also sounds quite riveting and promising, so I’m really looking forward to reading it.


Kane & Abel by Jeffery Archer / The Pact by Jodi Picoult

kane-and-abel

Coinciding with the launch of his latest novel ‘This was a Man,’ I have seen his name everywhere.
It is so embarrassing to admit it, but I have never (once again) read his book before.
Being a fledgling bookworm, I now realize there are so many authors whose book I need to tackle before the flame of my life finally flickers out – which is, for your information, far, far ahead 😛
I asked my Twitter friends what Jeffery Archer’s book would make a good entry and they said “Kane & Abel” seemed fit, thus here it is; I’m excited to read it.
As for Jodi Picoult, I have seen her name here and there but have I never read her book sadly to say. Skimming through the synopsis of several of her books, I found ‘The Pact‘ most interesting. I was in the mood for some heart-wrenching books that would bring tears to my eyes or rip my heart open. From that viewpoint, I think ‘The Pact’ will fit the bill.


Two Tickets to the Christmas Ball by Donita K. Paul

torn-book

Just like everybody else I assume, I get an itch to read Christmas-themed books when December rolls around.
I think I read more than 10 holiday-themed books back to back last year and I’m sure this year will be no exception; I’ve already bought three holiday-themed books from Amazon (aside from aforementioned Jenny Colgan) and this one arrived just yesterday.
I still have about 20 holiday-themed book from last year waiting on my Kindle, yet I’m afraid I just can’t keep my hands off books with cute Christmas-ish, festive covers 😦

There you have it; there are some of the books that I have bought this November.
I’m still expecting three more books to arrive, so I’ll update you once they’ve arrived.

Thanks for reading as always, and I hope you have a wonderful reading month! 😀

 

Leave a Reply

