Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

pride-and-prejudiceTitle: Pride and Prejudice

Author: Jane Austen

Edition: Dover Thrift Editions

Length: 262 pages

 

I honestly don’t know what to make of this book; not in a negative light but in a positive light.
When I closed the book, I was still drifting in the world of the 19th century and it took me a while to be back in the 21st century.

I must admit that I didn’t get to comprehend every sentence that’s in the book, there are some parts that I couldn’t wrap my head around however hard I tried, yet it was such a delightful read and I just adore this book.

I have watched the film adaptation prior to reading this and the film is one of my favorites. That said, having read this book, I can say that you must read the book to fully enjoy the film because the book gives you a lot of in-depth descriptions and explanations for things that happen in the film and more than anything, much detailed descriptions of Elizabeth’s vacillation and torment upon Mr. Darcy’s confession.

Although the film does contain the scene where Elizabeth receives the letter from Mr. Darcy explaining what happened between him and Mr. Wickham which makes Elizabeth realize she has been all wrong on disliking Mr. Darcy, but it is a bit hard to detect Elizabeth’s change of heart where her disliking toward Mr. Darcy changing into affection and gratitude by merely watching the film. (As everything goes at a fast pace.)

In addition to that, I personally think the dialogues are what makes this book outstanding and a delightful read. They all reflect the characters’ personality really well and make each character really relatable and endearing.

Not to mention the plot is just adorable and heart-tickling. I personally think it’s rather deplorable that such modesty and courtesy have long been lost in the modern society.
Some may think it’s long-winded and unnecessarily circumspect, but I do think it adds to the thrill and suspense of how things turn out between them.

I will definitely re-read this book so that I get to better understand the story next time.
I’m even thinking of reading the other two books, ‘Sense and Sensibility’ and ‘Persuasion’ in the coming months!

 

Leave a Reply

