Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

The Deathly Harrows

Phew! As I promised, I finally finished ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows’ last Sunday! 😀

Initially, I wasn’t inclined to write a post on this one – it felt it was kind of presumptuous of me to mention ANYTHING about such a grand book.

Nevertheless, I’ve obviously changed my mind and now I am writing this blog.
Rather than me talking about this book itself, I think I’m going to talk about what I think are pros and cons of a book made into a movie.

As I was reading this book, I put it down every now and then and watched some snippets of the movie (‘The Deathly Hallows’) on YouTube.
I did so solely out of my curiosity; I just wanted to see how the book was actually made into the movie, how the production team visualized each high-profile scene.

I regret having done that. It actually took some fun out of the book.
I’m in no way saying the book pales in comparison to the movie, though, as far as how the battle scenes go at the end of the book, I must say the movie seems to have outdone the book to some extent.
The descriptions in the book are absolutely strong and spectacular – the pacing is just perfect and action-packed, it was a real page-turner, that’s for sure – but when it comes to actually seeing how those scenes were visualized, the movie was better than the book in my personal opinion.

Having said that, the movie can’t even hold a candle when it comes to the character dynamics and the emotional conflicts between the characters.
Reading the book did complement what I failed to understand when I watched the movie and gave me a much deeper insight into Harry’s emotional upheaval, despair and setbacks.
I particularly liked the scene where Harry finds out what his future holds for him and what must be done to defeat Voldemort in the true sense of the word; how his realization which is kind of akin to despair gets closer to home with each step he takes when he makes his way to confront Voldemort. The scene literally wrecked me in a good way.

Although I still think the book is a bit too long particularly for children, it’s got an incredibly strong vibe and I just couldn’t put it down – I ended up dedicating the whole weekend solely for the purpose of finishing this book and I truly am glad that I did it.

I wouldn’t say that I got to make sense everything that’s written in the book, especially regarding ‘the deathly hallows,’ there are still some things I can’t get my head around to be honest. So I think I’ll definitely go back to this book again, better yet, I will re-read the whole series at some point!

This is a no brainer; do pick up this book. You won’t regret it!

 

Leave a Reply - Thank you!

