The Wedding by Danielle Steel

the-weddingTitle: The Wedding

Author: Danielle Steel

Published: First Published in 2000

Length: 517 pages

This is actually the third time I’ve read this book; I remember it was sometime in 2012 when I last read it.

I wasn’t expecting much that I’d connect to the story as much as the first time given how many times I’ve read it before, but what did I know? This book swept me off my feet instantly and I enjoyed it so much.

This book is about an entertainment law attorney Allegra finding a true love after somewhat traumatic experiences of dating commitment-phobic boyfriends.

Allegra’s parents are prominent and influential figures in Hollywood; her father is Simon Steinberg, who is one of the greatest film directors in the movie industry and her mother, Blaire Scott, has been running a very successful TV show over the past nine years.

Allegra practices entertainment law and works so hard – catering to every possible need that her clients throw at her, ranging from lending a sympathetic ear to their problems to bailing them out of jail.
She has been dating her boyfriend of two years, Brandon, but he claims that he has had a traumatic experience of being forced to marry his first wife and that he is still in the midst of dispute with his estranged wife over their properties, so he’s yet to be ready to break the status quo, which worries Allegra whether she has – once again – picked a wrong guy who fails to make a commitment.

One day, she goes on a business trip to New York then meets a very attractive writer, Jeff Hamilton. They fall in love instantly and then …

Well, that’s all I can divulge here about the synopsis. It’s quite an entertaining read. I didn’t imagine that I would get so invested in the story as much as I did the first time.
As it’d been four years (quite a long time, isn’t it?) since I last read it, so everything might have felt so fresh.

That doesn’t mean I adore everything about this book; I did have some issues particularly with the character descriptions.

As the story takes Hollywood as the backdrop of the story, the author inserts a lot of existent actors and actresses as being friends with Allegra’s parents, like, Jack Nicolson shaking hands with her father, Simon Steinberg or something.

To me personally, it felt so superficial and fake. Yes, it is a fiction, so it’s only natural that it should seem fake, yet I found it a bit of a turnoff for me.

The next thing that I definitely loathed is Allegra being completely naked in the kitchen when she makes (or serves) coffee for her boyfriends.
On a personal level, I despise this description – I know Allegra has a gorgeous figure and is described to be so, yet I couldn’t help but feel she’s such a show-off and it literally put me off.
Do people really strut down to the kitchen being completely naked after a night with a boyfriend? Don’t they at least have modesty to put on a shirt or something???

Overall, I had an impression that the author did stretch a bit too much in Allegra’s characterization, everything about her being gorgeous and efficient felt a bit too fake.

Despite my initial (slight) disgust with such things, when the romance story kicked in, I got to invest myself deeply in the story and I enjoyed it till the end.

This story is not all about Allegra’s love story, there are actually a lot of side stories going on in this book and they add a lot of enjoyment and entertainment to what is an already engaging story.

The dialogues are also quite engaging, in particular, the big fights Allegra has with her mother over the wedding ceremony and the one with Jeff left quite a big impact on me.

I must note that the last several chapters are also spectacular – it beautifully describes Allegra’s anxieties and excitement over the wedding and the ceremony, it’s really whirlwind-like and gosh, it is just exquisite and I loved it.

In terms of English, this book is written in relatively easy English, so I’ll recommend giving this a try if you are into romance books 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

