It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

It ends with us

 

This is one of the most emotional books I have ever read in my life.

I remember seeing many tear-jerker movies that left my eye swollen and sore the next day, I don’t remember having read as emotional a book as this one in my entire life.

Honestly, this book left me completely stunned. Speechless. I can’t even find the words to describe this.

Let me tell you one thing first – although this book is generally categorized as New Adult, this is not your average lovey-dovey kind of book. It’s extremely powerful and it touches on one of the most controversial issues that has been deeply entrenched in our society.

Reading along what the main characters (Lily, Ryle and Atlas, but particularly Lily and Ryle) go through in the plot, I couldn’t help but wonder how the situation would have evolved if Lily had chosen to take a different path. So-called ‘what-if’ questions kept hanging around my head through the entire Part 2.

To be completely honest, I don’t even want to put the synopsis here because I strongly believe you’ll better get the message this book is about to convey if you go in completely blind, but what broke my heart is the decision what Lily made in the end of the book.

I am basically a kind of person who tries to look for good things in others; unless I absolutely don’t want anything to do with them, I will try to stick with them, rationalizing their behaviors by putting a blame on myself, thinking there must have been something about me that irked them.

However, this book – THIS BOOK – shoved the consequence that I least relish in front of my eyes; I was literally forced to read through the development I secretly and desperately wanted to avoid – it emotionally affected me so much. I wanted to reason Lily not to jump the wrong conclusion, reconsider and give it a second chance.

Compared to uplifting, sweet, romantic Part 1, Part 2 is incredibly strong and emotionally evocative.  It’d been a while since I last got completely wrapped up in a book and I was genuinely surprised by that.

I am glad that I picked up this book believing the hype.
I firmly believe this book should be read by many people, but you might want to do a bit of a research for some potential triggers before actually picking it up.

I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars.

Note: Please do read the author’s note AFTER you’ve read the book, definitely NOT before.
It was this author’s note that put me in a complete crying mess; the author tells you exactly where this story comes from and it cut through my heart. It’s genuinely brilliant. You can’t miss it.

One thought on “It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

