Suddenly You by Lisa Kleypas

Suddenly You

I wasn’t expecting this novella to be so sexually provocative; this is my very first Lisa Kleypas book by the way, thus neither did I know what types of books she usually writes or whether I’d like it or not.

I enjoyed the book, actually. It’s about a talented budding novelist Amanda Briars finds a true love in a rather impetuous affair with an infamous but influential publisher, Jack Devlin.

Amanda has always had an inferior complex toward herself as not being ‘desirable’ for men; neither being stunningly beautiful nor possess a perfect physique (she thinks herself being ‘plump’). So much so, she has never been in a steady relationship with a man or engaged in any form of sexual relationships.

On her thirtieth birthday, she decides to take the plunge and buys a male prostitute to mark the occasion and get a taste of what it is like to be loved and caressed by a man.

However, the man who appeared at her doorstep and whom she assumed to be a male prostitute turned out to be Jack Devlin whom she despises and the things move in the direction she has least expected.

Firstly, as I mentioned earlier, this book contains a lot of sexual scenes; much more than I expected. However, since the backdrop of the story falls sometime I presume in the 19th century, it’s got the particular ‘Classic’ atmosphere thus the writing and descriptions are not as raw as you’d find in contemporary books. (Not that I’m saying that I have read MANY romance books though). It definitely has got some sophisticated quality and it’s even beautiful rather than vulgar.

Secondly, I also loved the turns and twists in the plot. In the beginning, their relationship seems to be sexually-driven rather than being emotional-driven, which makes us into believing their affair will end up being short-lived. However, the story doesn’t end there; I enjoyed reading how their relationship develops and forms into something more substantial and not to mention, their character development also kept me engaged in the story.

There was actually a point where I felt the story slowed a bit, but another turn of events helped me to bring my focus back on the story and I enjoyed the rest of it.

Some of you might find it a bit off-putting because of the abundance of sex scenes, but it’s definitely not ‘I-find-nothing-but-sex-scenes’ kind of story; it’s actually much more to it and I’ll bet the beautiful and moving epilogue will put a smile on your face.

 

Leave a Reply

