The Inn at Eagle Point by Sherryl Woods

The Inn at Eagle Point

It had been almost two years until I finally got down to this book since I first downloaded it.

Books written by authors who somewhat remind me of ‘good-old American Grandmas are just comfort to me; like a place where you know you can be comfortable and always come back when you want to take your mind off.

This book obviously fits the bill in that regard. I was assured the entire time that everything would eventually turn out more than okay, and it did. I wouldn’t divulge the details though.

The story begins with the youngest of O’brien siblings, Jess, having a lot of issues with the inn she’s envisioned to open. She’s been suffering from a mild case of ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder) and tends to let things slip when she gets wrapped up.
Because of her falling behind the repayments for the loan from the bank, the inn is now on the brink of foreclosure – unless Jess is willing to bring in a supervisor who oversees her and makes sure she’ll keep making payments on time.

That’s where Jess’s big old sister Abby comes in, and Abby’s old flame, Trace.
There was a history between them; Abby actually walked away from Trace despite having been deeply in love with him. Abby sought her career up in New York, she couldn’t see eye to eye with Trace who wanted to stay in Chesapeake Shores where they grew up.

They convince each other (particularly Abby) that it’s already water under the bridge, but the flame definitely starts burning again between them. That’s where the plot thickens.

Sherryl Woods is exquisite in the character descriptions – I don’t know how many times I gritted my teeth with Jess not being appreciative of Abby sacrificing her life in New York just for the sake of helping Jess. I tried to tame my temper every time Jess acts unreasonably, telling myself that was all because of ADD and I would need to be patient.

The O’briens are all stubborn in their own way and that makes the story incredibly engaging (and irritable in a good way). They rattled my cage every now and then, I must admit, but it was so much fun reading along especially Jess’s journey to accomplish her dream and how she proves herself to be more than capable of running the inn.

There are actually a lot of elements (divorce, marriage, child custody, family issues and such) in this book, but they beautifully entwine and drive us to a predictable yet moving end.

Although the part where the family members reconcile with their mother seemed a bit weak, other than that, it was definitely worth a read. I highly recommend it.

 

Leave a Reply

