Irreparable Harm by Melissa F. Miller

Irreperable Harm

Although this legal thriller (suspense?) seems to have gotten pretty good reviews overall, I found this was not my cup of tea.

The story opens up with a tragic plane crash killing everyone on board. Attorney Sasha McCandless is appointed to lead a defense team to protect the airline, Hemisphere Air’s interest and then she discovers that the plane was rigged with an unauthorized remote system which enables anyone on board to remotely control the aircraft for a good cause and -needless to say – a bad cause.

She is then joined by a Federal Air Martial Leo Connelly who has also been investigating the case and he tries to protect her from the culprits who try to kill her.

Well, I was expecting a more intense legal suspense story something you’d expect from Jon Grisham books – something that keeps you holding your breath, being anxious to turn pages.

But alas, this book failed to live up to my (maybe high) expectation; it lacked the aspect of suspense by divulging who the bad guys were (partially as it was) way too early in the story. I would have liked to have been kept skeptic and would have liked to figure out who the culprits were by myself.

Secondly, the characters were too weak; in particular, the villains seemed to be too dumb (far cry from formidable) and Connelly, who is described as a Federal officer, didn’t seem to be dependable at all, which was quite a letdown to me to be honest. Sasha seemed way smarter than any of the characters and it may have been exactly how the author tried to portray her, but again, it only reminded me of Angelina Jolie, who is generally portrayed as a strong, competent woman.

Overall, my impression and gut instinct toward this book was, ‘this could have been much better if only the author had made full use of all the resources in the plot.’ It’s got all the aspects – airplane crash, legal battles, conspiracy and suspense – which would have made this book more engaging and gripping, but it kind of fell flat, at least to me.

I’m not saying this book is a complete trash though. If so, I would not have finished this book. It was entertaining enough to keep me going until the end.

If you don’t expect full-on suspense from this book, this will make a good read.
I wouldn’t say I love this book, but I would definitely say ‘it’s A-OK.’

 

Leave a Reply

