Delivering Happiness by Tony Hsieh

delivering-happiness

As I previously mentioned, I listened to its audiobook TWICE.
Hugely inspired, I think I’ll attempt to write my personal review on this book.

First and foremost, I highly recommend reading this book to everyone.
You don’t have to be an entrepreneur or a start-up hoping to succeed in business to enjoy this book. In fact, I am just a clerical worker for a mid-size construction company, but this book really motivated me to broaden my horizons and keep growing in my current environment.

Zappos is now the powerhorse in the e-commerce footwear industry in the U.S. and is widely known for its one-of-a kind customer-oriented corporate culture.
This book digs deep into the company policy, explaining where the belief came from and even sharing the company’s core values sandwiching the mistakes they have made in between.

Zappos was not as successful as it is now right from the beginning.
They did get off to a running start but then had some rough times where the CEO Tony Hsieh had to scramble back and forth to raise enough funds to keep the company afloat. He even poured his own money into Zappos every now and then, selling all the private property he owned sometimes at much lower prices knowing he would be inflicted a huge loss.

Yet, he had a strong faith “Zappos is definitely worth it,” or “Zappos can go much further if we manage to survive this crisis.” (Note: this is not accurate excerpt from the book.)
He didn’t hesitate to make sacrifice; he finally found something he could be passionate about, what he had been looking for.

Getting a glimpse of Zappo’s company policy was quite an inspiring and interesting experience. This book actually inspired me in a way nothing had ever done to me; my attitude and mindset toward work have definitely changed since I listened to this book.

I’m afraid that I don’t get to apply everything that I learned from this book to my work environment, yet I feel I’m far more motivated than before. It reminded me of the importance of being open-minded to any suggestions as well as criticism and keeping challenging myself to grow as a person.

Reading this book, a thought crossed my mind now and again; I recalled our CEO constantly muttering that his employees had lost the sense of unity and were doing things whatever way they wanted, not following the direction they had been given.

When I reached the part where the author talked about the culture fit (I forgot the exact wording…) it was the ‘a-ha’ moment for me; I realized what our CEO was talking about.

In every aspect, this book is a great read. Even if you don’t usually read memoirs or business related books, I highly recommend reading this book (or listening to it).
I’m sure you’ll be as inspired as I am.

 

Leave a Reply

