Before I Go To Sleep by S.J. Watson

Before I go to Sleep

Memories define us.

So what if you lost yours every time you went to sleep? Your name, your identity, your past, even the people you love – all forgotten overnight. And the one person you trust may only be telling you half the story.

Welcome to Christine’s life.


This book consists of 3 parts:
Part 1 that describes the current situation where Christine is in,
Part 2, where the last couple of weeks of Christine’s life is narrated in the form of her journal, and
Part 3 that describes the events that happen after Part 1.

In Part 1, I felt the author somewhat fixed our default-mindset (or perspective, as it were) as to what frame of mind we should be in going forth.  It left me wondering whether I should take everything I read at face value or be suspicious.
The story then moves on to Part 2 – Christine’ journal that describes what Christine has gone through and the discoveries she has made. This part is quite long and quite detailed, I seriously wonder how many hours on average she spent writing every single thing she did or every piece of conversation she had.
The tone and the ambiance that the journals carry are generally rather quiet yet Christine’s vulnerability, desperation and sort of fears are amazingly well-described in the entire section. I wonder how a mere journal can be such a page-turner; that entire part completely hooked me on adrenaline and kept me reading for hours without stopping.

As for Part 3, I think I’d rather not mention here. There are things that are better off left unsaid and Part 3 falls exactly into the category. You must pick up this book and see what happens with your own two eyes.
Let’s just say I really enjoyed this book and I’ll highly recommend this one.

Leave a Reply

