There’s a Boy in the Girl’s Bathroom by Louis Sachar

There's a boy in the girl's bathroom

There’s A Boy in the Girls’ Bathroom

 

“Give me a dollar or I’ll spit on you.” That’s Bradley Chalker for you. He is the oldest child in the class. He tells enormous lies. He picks fights with girls, and the teachers say he has ‘serious behaviour problems’. No one likes him – except Carla, the new school counsellor. She thinks Bradley is sensitive and generous, and she even enjoys his far-fetched stories. Carla knows that Bradley could change, if only he weren’t afraid to try. Sometimes the hardest thing in the world is believing in yourself.

 

Some people may find children’s books literally ‘childish’ and below them, but I wouldn’t mind reading them every now and then.

I even go so far as to say reading such inspirational children’s books are crucial to nurture a wholesome sense of discipline in kids’ mind to grow up to be an adult capable of differentiating from what is good and bad.

In the beginning, the main character – Bradley comes across incredibly annoying and recalcitrant and I literally found myself gritting my teeth to suppress my compulsion to spank him in the butt, like “What the heck?!

However, as I saw how Bradley change – even if what small change it is – through the interaction with a school counselor, Carla, I found myself grinning from ear to ear, going like, “Good for you, Bradley! Now you come to your senses!”

The story doesn’t end there – there are some turns of events in store for you which I am not divulging, I will encourage you to pick up the book and see it for yourself.
That said, I learned how susceptible and vulnerable kids’ mind actually are and can be subject to mood swings just a like a pendulum at the smallest of things.

Overall, this is a very inspirational book. Irrespective of how old you are, I’m sure there must be something you can take home from this book. In particular, I recommend moms and dads read this book just in order to get behind what can be on your kids’s mind. It might help 🙂

Leave a Reply

