I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

I've got your number

I’ve Got Your Number: A Novel


Poppy Wyatt was on cloud nine; having her wedding to her ideal man, Magnus Tavish just around the corner, she thought everything was going just great until she lost what she would never have imagined she would; her engagement ring which was passed down in Tavish’s household.

Worse still, in the midst of an emotional turmoil Poppy got her cell phone nicked by a stranger. Her cell phone!! Not only did she lose her engagement ring, the reason of which she would ever be able to explain without causing a stir, but also she had her cell phone stolen!

Just then, she finds a cell phone discarded in a trash bin and decides she will take it so that everyone can contact her as soon as the ring is found.

Things seemed settled except that the phone’s owner, businessman Sam Roxton, doesn’t agree. He wants his phone back and doesn’t appreciate Poppy reading his messages and wading into his personal life.

How will things turn out for Poppy and Magnus? Will his family find out that Poppy lost the ring? What about things between Poppy and Sam??

 

First of all, I thought it was a typical Sophie Kinsella book that you find it hard to relate to the heroine or the protagonist because of their obnoxiousness then it gradually grows on you as the story proceeds.

Yes, to be perfectly honest with you, I couldn’t help but feel really disgusted with what Poppy does with Sam’s phone. She thinks she’s doing him favors, but to me, it is nothing but a blatant invasion of his privacy. How could she possibly think what she is going will do him good?

That said, the turn of events happens in the latter part grasped me, completely swept me off my feet and I found myself ended up flip-flopping my initial impression toward this book.

As I previously mentioned in my previous review, I seem to have a soft spot for such kind of romance stories which pull at my heartstrings, and I must say Sophie Kinsella did it again; she won over my heart.

It may take a while until you reach the decisive point what I’m talking about (maybe somewhere in the middle or latter half), but once you reach the point, the story picks up speed and drives you to the end which I found really exhilarating.

464 pages seems a bit long, but I can say it’s worth a try 🙂

Leave a Reply

