Kindle Unlimited

Have you guys already tried ‘Kindle Unlimited’ yet?

To tell you the truth, I had my heart set on trying this service long before it became available in Japan in early August. The reasons are:

one) I thought I would get to expand my vocabulary size by reading books (I am a kind of person who looks up every single word in a dictionary), and
two) I wouldn’t feel guilty about wasting my time as much as I would do by vegging out watching Netflix or something.

I used to subscribe to Netflix for about two months and would often watch movies and dramas whenever I had some downtime.

However, as it often happens I assume, once you start watching it takes a lot of self-control and discipline to stop watching. You can easily spend a few hours in the blink of an eye.

Believe it or not, having spent almost eight hours watching ‘The Americans’ I felt that I wasted a lot of time which I could have spent doing something else such as expanding my vocabulary.

As soon as I heard the news that Amazon Japan was set to introduce a new service in early August, I decided to terminate my subscription for Netflix and try Kindle Unlimited without hesitation.

I have downloaded 9 books and read two books so far with this service and I feel it works for me.

Despite its restriction as to how many books you can download and put in your Kindle Unlimited shelf, the number of which is currently 10, I think it can be a good drive for reading. Also, it will give you an opportunity to find authors whose books you would never imagine yourself reading them.

I know there must be a lot of people who feel a bit iffy about this Unlimited service, but giving it a try won’t hurt you, I think.

Yes, I am happy with the service so far; I need to pick up the pace in my reading so that I can add some more books though! 😦

 

Kindle Unlimited

 

Leave a Reply

